You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wooden Gothic of Maramureș region

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago

Wow! XVth and XVIIth century churches with the Slavic touch! I adore it!

In Poland, most of those sorts of buildings were destroyed in the XXth century but it can be still seen in Bieszczady, which is southern-east. I loved to visit that area, as it's very peaceful, quiet and in some way... magical, like the buildings from your publication.

Sort:  

I have childhood memories of one such church, but I did not realize its value. For me, it was an old wooden church of a strange shape in an unknown village, where I once visited with my parents. It wasn't until much later that I realized what I had seen when I was a child.

In Poland, wooden churches look much better maintained. I judge from a Wikipedia article.

Our church lives on community donations. Accordingly, if the village is small, the church does not have the funds for restoration. Then you need some rich patron.

In Poland, wooden churches look much better maintained

Well, sometimes I feel that Poland is more religious than the Vatican, besides that church still gets the money from the government as the recompensate for the communism and what was taken from them at those times (although they should stop getting that cash a long time ago, nowadays it's more like a political bribe to approve the government which is slightly undemocratic). Besides that, there is a money fund from the EU for all the historical buildings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43