The Biggest Attraction Of My Country by @noraandy

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago

Hello dear Steemians of the Steem-Travelers community. I want to thank @hive-111293 for this wonderful contest about country attraction, talking about most popular tourist destination.

My most popular tourist destination is the Olumo Rock. This rock is one of the major tourist centers in Nigeria, located in Abeokuta(capital city) in Ogun state. It is a classic centre that has a captivating embodiment and these rocks tell stories on their own.

Screenshot_20211119-102440_Facebook.jpg
A photo of me and my friend at Olumo rock

Screenshot_20211119-102414_Facebook.jpg

This place is the blessings of nature. Abeokuta translated means under "Under the Rock" is blessed with beautiful piece of nature in a height of 137 m (Olumo Rock).


Facts About Olumo Rock


  • Olumo rock was discovered by Adagbaa hunter as he used the rock as his fortress during the 19th century war. The rock served as a vintage point for those that were living there.

Screenshot_20211119-102419_Facebook.jpg

  • Olumo is two words meaning God and Moulded "Olu and Mo" respectively and it is translated as "God has ended our sufferings and troubles".

  • Olumo rock had a woman named Mrs. Sinatu Aduke Sanni popularly known as Iya Orisa who has lived almost 133yrs of her life at this rock. She has witnessed the coronation of four kings of Egba Land and she believes the god of the rock protects and provides for them.

  • The rock has a tree that has a life of almost 200yesra and it keeps blooming either in dry or rainy season.

Screenshot_20211119-102407_Facebook.jpg

  • The rock produces water that is used to cure diseases and sicknesses by herbalist during rainy season only.

  • Olumo rock was turned into tourist site in 1976 and was commissioned by former president, President Olusegun Obasanjo. The place has been renovated with elevators, museum, an eatry, market and water fountain as side attractions.

Screenshot_20211119-102423_Facebook.jpg

Screenshot_20211119-102434_Facebook.jpg

I invite @chiomzy810 and @dequeen to join this contest.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hey,

Thank you very much for sharing your post in Steem-Travelers. We enjoyed reading it a lot :)

plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
Verified userYES
Bot-freeYES

Thanks for even reading through it. I appreciate

Thanks so much for your invite, l promise to join.

You're welcome dear

I am very impressed with the olumo stone in the best tourist attractions in the country, I also like being able to see your photo here with your friends, even though I am not at your place, I can enjoy the charm of the best area at your place.

Awwwwn, thanks so much for enjoying the view of the tourist center from my post.

 3 years ago 

The tree grows on the rock for 200 years wow,
I learnt so many interesting fact, my best being the spiritual water that cure diseases
#travelers-say

Amazing things i heard about the place. I'm glad i could share it. Thanks for reading through my chat.

 3 years ago 

Have a nice day. Good luck with your post. Thanks for sharing with us.

#Travelers-say

Thanks @safi01. I really appreciate you going through my post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66