TRAVEL WITH MUSIC// by @niglys8

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago (edited)
10% payout to @hive-111293

Compliments of the season friends!

Hope you all are enjoying the holiday season? Well, I am and wish you all the same. I'm glad to be a participant of this amazing 13th edition of the travel contest with it's theme "Travel with music"


Personally, music means so much to me and I believe it's an art of harmonious sound that expresses our ideas and emotions as humans. I also believe that music is culture because if you want to understand the cultures and traditions of a country, then you might have to listen or watch the kind of music that is peculiar to them.


In Nigeria, the traditional or local music is very much peculiar to us and during festive periods like the one we are enjoying now when people travel to their villages for all kinds of celebration especially the traditional wedding celebration, the traditional kind of music is highly appreciated because of the kind of the kind of cultural vibes it gives. During my childhood days, especially when I travel to the village for traditional occasions, I enjoyed listening and dancing to such traditional music. And I got to understand that such music can never be enjoyed without using some local music instruments like the hand drums, guitar, shakers, flute etc.

african-g7417fe05c_1920.jpg
Image source

So in my blog today, I'll be talking about a traditional music titled "OBIM"

Screenshot_20211229-125417_1.png
Image source

This music was sung with love by Timi Dakolo who happens to be a Nigerian singer, songwriter and music producer. The title of the music "Obim" is an igbo word and in English language, it means "MY HEART"
This music is an igbo love music that is usually played during traditional marriage ceremonies in the Eastern part of Nigeria. Truly, in any traditional marriage ceremony where this song has not being played then the ceremony has not yet started fully. hahahaha!
4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9FXYRiHdCF7g2xHakY93XUkJtqJvhdUNPgNJXevuwk1avAKpXB9fPX2u5NHzQASVbWLsCM9Hq277C.png

The emotional feeling I get from the harmonious tunes and vocals of this amazing music is nothing compared to none. Infact, whenever I listen to this traditional music, I feel like I should be planning my own traditional marriage as soon as possible so as to dance with my own prince charming just as it is in the music video. You might be wondering why I have such feeling right?


Check out this YouTube link to feed your eyes with this love struck melodious traditional music
Obim


The music video of this melodious song shows how a traditional marriage ceremony is being conducted in the Eastern part of Nigeria and it's really a wonderful thing to behold. The music video scene started with some sultry talks together with the flute player accompanying the groom and the groom's men while blowing a traditional flute.
The groom and his men were wonderfully dressed in judge wrapper and white shirt apparel with red cap on their head and staff to match.

Screenshot_20211229-125904_1.png
Image source
4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9FXYRiHdCF7g2xHakY93XUkJtqJvhdUNPgNJXevuwk1avAKpXB9fPX2u5NHzQASVbWLsCM9Hq277C.png

Followed by the procession of the brides maids, we call them "asoebis" in our dialect and then the beautiful bride specially adorned to dance to where her parents are seated. The bride finally got to where her parents were and she is given a cup of wine to go search for her husband the groom, so they can come back to meet the parents for their marriage blessing.

Screenshot_20211229-172642.png
Image source

Screenshot_20211229-125823_1.png
Image source

4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9FXYRiHdCF7g2xHakY93XUkJtqJvhdUNPgNJXevuwk1avAKpXB9fPX2u5NHzQASVbWLsCM9Hq277C.png

Another interesting part of this melodious music is the "Sultry talk" part where the assumed groom in the music video praised the bride with some sweet sweet igbo words which made her blush away her pretty cheeks! smiles☺

Screenshot_20211229-130646_1.png
Image source

Screenshot_20211229-130723_1.png
Image source

And finally to the refreshment, merriment and dance scenes.

Screenshot_20211229-130404_1.png
Image source

Screenshot_20211229-130333_1.png
Image source

4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9FXYRiHdCF7g2xHakY93XUkJtqJvhdUNPgNJXevuwk1avAKpXB9fPX2u5NHzQASVbWLsCM9Hq277C.png

I won't fail to share a part of the catchy lyrics of this amazing song with my friends here in this wonderful community. Don't worry I'll translate the igbo lyrics for some of my friends that don't understand the igbo language😀


The queen wey own my heart!
The crown upon my head!
The essence of my life!
Odim n'obim oh(Always in my heart)

Obim oh! obim oh! (My heart! My heart!)
Nwunyem oh! nwunyem oh! (My wife! My wife!)
Unu afugo achalugo nwama'm oh! (See my pretty damsel!)
Obim oh! obim oh! (My heart! my heart!)
Nwunyem oh! nwunyem oh! (My wife! my wife!)
Unu afugo chukuwu agozigom oh! (See, God has blessed me!)

Like I said earlier, Music is Culture and this melodious traditional music "OBIM" expresses the culture involved in a standard traditional marriage ceremony in the Eastern part of Nigeria. If you want to fully understand how the traditional marriage occasions is being done in the eastern part of Nigeria, then you shouldn't miss checking out the youtube video link of the music video I dropped above.


Thanks for reading through!
I invite @chikelly19 and @pesh21 to participate in this amazing contest.


Warm regards,
@niglys8

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks for sharing the post. Good advice.

But some of the images in this post seem to be copyright related.

Please note, that in steemit can only use copyright-free images.

I recommend that you add images from copyright-free sources, such as wikimedia commons or pixabay.

Report :

  • steemexclusive : YES
  • plagiarism : NO
  • bid bot : NO

Author SBD : 23.973 SBD

Total Steem PowerUp : 215 STEEM POWERED Up

Author SBD To Steem : 283.745 STEEM

Steem Transferred Out : 149 Steem Transferred Out (SBD part has been converted into Steem)

 3 years ago 

True. It would be better just to share the link to youtube, without adding the screenshots.

Standard Youtube Licence includes no "free usage" and as such, you cannot use a screenshot without permission from the copyright owner on a platform such as Steemit.

It's more advanced copyright knowledge, so of course that tiny mistake won't have any impact for your score. The article is very, very interesting and surely deserve the reward. Wonderful job!

Oh! I had no idea screenshots can be copyright images. I have taken note now and will be more careful next time.

I'm glad you found my post very, very interesting!
Thank you for reading through!🤗

Thank you too!
The images i used are screenshots i made with my mobile device from the music video of the music i wrote about and are copy- free images.

Thanks..

grateful 💝

Thank you❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45