III Traditional Food Weekly Challenge - Review about my Regional Food

in Steem-Travelers2 years ago (edited)
My Regional Food Review

Hello friends I greet you all and how are you doing. Hope you are doing great and having fun with your loved ones. Today I am here again to discuss about my Regional Food.


Edited with Flyer Maker

Traditional or regional food recipes, reviews.

My regional food is known as Egusi (Melon) Soup. Egusi soup is one of the special kind of soup that I love eating with garri and I am so much happy that it is my regional food. While I was growing up, a week will not passed by without my mom cooking Egusi soup. Then when my Mom usually cooked Egusi soup I will be wondering why she loved cooking Egusi soup in every week. I didn't knew about that until when I went to higher institutions and started seeing how my regional peoples are equally cooking Egusi soup more often than any other soup.

Videos, photos or photo gallery of traditional or regional food.

Here I will be showing you how some of the photos gallery of Egusi soup that is prepared by me how it was prepared including the ingredients that was used. As I have earlier said, Egusi soup is the kind of soup that you can find in any restaurants in my place because is our number one regional food that we value like no other foods. Below is the photos of the Egusi soup that I cooked.


The photos above is my regional food which the lovely Egusi soup and Garri that am discussing about.

Visits to traditional food restaurants.

As I said earlier, Egusi soup is the kind of soup that you can find easily without stress in my region not just because is my regional food but because of how special and delicious the soup is. However, it's very expensive in a restaurant and that was why I had to prepare it at home myself than going to the restaurant to eat it. Let me show you how my regional food can be cook.

In cooking my regional food there are some ingredients that is required. Some of the ingredients that are needed are;

  • Egusi (AkA Melon)
  • Vegetable leaf like ugwu or hotleaf
  • Meat or Fish (Smoke fish is preferable to use than fresh)
  • Pepper
  • Onions
  • Salt, Maggie and Oil.

If there is money you can add other Ingredients like; Snail, Stockfish, Catfish and Mushrooms.

How To Cook My Regional Food (Egusi Soup)

There are several of ways that my regional food (Egusi soup) can be cook. It's not too just special to cook. Here is how I cooked my own.

  • I wash and pieces my smoke fish and put it inside pot, where I then added small water to it.

  • As the fish and other ingredients was on fire boiling I then poured in the grendel Egusi (Melon) and allow it to get stick.

  • As soon as I added the Egusi, that was when I started adding other ingredients like; Pepper, Salt, Maggi and fish.

  • After a while as the Egusi became stick to my taste I then added vegetable leaf and stir it before I then brought it then.

tmp-cam-2461185493598362943.jpgIMG20220412160324.jpg
IMG20220412161045.jpgIMG20220412161239.jpg

Celebrations, parties or events with traditional food.

My Regional Food Egusi soup is the only soup that is cooked during Bekwarra New Yam Festival Celebrations. Whenever there is no Egusi soup then forget about anything that has to do with enjoying of Bekwarra New Yam Festival. The new yam festival is a traditional festival of Bekwarra people that is celebrated once in every year around September. Bekwarra is located in the northern part of Cross-River state Nigeria. Below you can see how elders are rushing my regional food (Egusi soup).

Legor-Idagbo-sharing-food-with-constituents-300x225.jpg
Image Source

During Bekwarra New Yam* Festival the whole people of Bekwarra do cooked Egusi soup and pounded yam to celebrate the festival. However, the ground breaking of the festival is usually done at the village market square and that is when the Chief and his Cabinet members will used either pounded yam or rusted yam and eat with the Egusi soup. The image above has already explained all what am discussing about.

Stories about your memories with traditional or regional food.

Just as I have earlier said, at the beginning of this post, that when I was growing up as a kid a week will never passed bye without my Mom cooking Egusi soup for we to eat. That was when I started admiring the food because as a kid then oomooh no time to do guy we do ate and leak the plate of whatever food that is delicious and sweet like tomorrow no dey.

Even when I was in school, I couldn't stayed a week without me eating Egusi soup because of how I was addicted to the soup. Then I didn't knew how to cooked so my eating of Egusi soup was usually at the restaurant and no matter how I ate it I will never get satisfied until one day I had to called my mom and told her that I will be coming home just to learned how to cooked our Regional Food (Egusi soup). I thank GOD 🙏 that today, I can comfortably cook Egusi soup.

Conclusion:


Egusi soup is a not just a food that is recognised in my region along, it is the kind of soup that is commonly available in every parts of Nigeria. All thanks to the organizer of this contest whicj have me the opportunity to share a review about my traditional food (Egusi soup). To this I equally using this opportunity to invite @nancygbemi, @prince4icon and @jasminemary also to join me and participate in this contest.

10% of this post rewards goes to @hive-111293

Cc:-
@hive-111293

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.
Curated By : @event-horizon

 2 years ago (edited)

Wow! Your food looks yummy. Infact I can perceive the aroma. Egusi soup is my favorite soup. I cook it almost every week.

Plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
Verified userYES
Bot-freeYES

Thank you for sharing your quality content with us.

Thank you so much Egusi soup is love all over Nigeria. Waooh you do cooked almost every week just as my mom used to cooked it for then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26