#club5050 Weekly Traditional Cooking Contest /// Local Dishes /// A Traditional Edikang Ikong

in Steem-Travelers2 years ago

Greetings to everyone!

Today I have prepared another of my traditional food for the sake of this contest. This is to tell you that I love cooking what I feel like eating by myself rather than going out to buy it.

In this post, I will be showing you my traditional food and how you can prepare it also. This my traditional food that am about to show you is called Edikang Ikong Soup. It is a vegetable soup that is populary known among the people of Efik in Akwa Ibom and Cross River State located in the southern part of Nigeria. Edikang Ikong is the only soup that is considered to be a delicacy among this two state in Nigeria, and it's the reason why the soup is sometime served whenever there is an important traditional occasions in these two state.

Now, let me start by showing you how to make Edikang Ikong Soup.

IMG20220419165940.jpg

Edikang Ikong Soup Recipe:

Here I will be showing you the quantity of recipes that you can use in cooking Edikang Ikong Soup as a bachelor or a single lady. But in the case where you're to cook your Edikang Ikong Soup for family consumption you can increase the quantity of recipes. So for now let's take a look at the most needed recipe.

  • 100g Water leaves
  • 1kg Ugwu leaves (Pumpkin leaves Spinach/fluted)
  • 400g of assorted meat (chicken, cow shaki (tripe),kanda(cow' skin), snails) anyone that you can afford can served.
  • Smoke fish
  • Stock fish (optional)
  • 120ml palm oil
  • Onions
  • Periwinkles (optional)
  • Crayfish
  • Fresh pepper
  • Maggi to taste
  • Salt to taste

Procedures for cooking Edikang Ikong Soup:

  • The first step is to prepare the vegetable (Ugwu and water leaves), by washing and cutting them small small (i.e slices it tiny according to how you prefer it) and keep it aside.

  • the second steps is to wash and cut your assorted meat. Also clean and wash your periwinkles, stock fish, dry fish that you are to used and keep them aside.

After, following the procedures above, the steps below is what I follow to cooked my Edikang Ikong Soup.

  • I place assorted meat (chicken) in the pot, and added a little water, slice onion, salt and Maggi and cooked properly.

  • As the meat got done, I then added ground pepper, crayfish and palm oil and I leave it to boil for 5 to 6minutes.

  • After allowing the affomentioned ingredients to boil for some minutes, I then added the water leaves and leave it for 1minutes before I added ugwu leaves, Maggi and salt to my taste. I stir the soup thoroughly and allow it to simmer for 4minutes and after that my traditional Edikang Ikong Soup became ready.

IMG20220419162625.jpg

IMG20220419164051.jpg

IMG20220419164142.jpg

I make Garri eba and ate with the Edikang Ikong Soup.
Note:

IMG20220419165930.jpg

Aside eating Edikang Ikong Soup with Garri Eba, it can also be served with Starch(Usi), Fufu, Amala or Semolina as well.

Thank you for your time here.

I am using this opportunity to invite my friends @jasminemary, @nancygbemi & @prince4icon to this competition.

10% of this post rewards goes to @hive-111293

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hi friend.

Plagiarism-freeYES ✔️
#steemexclusiveYES ✔️
#club5050YES ✔️
Verified userYES ✔️
Bot-freeYES ✔️

Good job.

Thank you so much.

Chia I can say that Edikang Ikong is one of the best soup in Nigeria especially when a calabar woman prepare it, and this one you prepared is so rich am sure it will be very sweet.

Actually you have said it all

"when a calabar woman prepare it

Edikang Ikong is the only favourite food in Calabar and Akwa Ibom that you can commonly find. Sure I did my best and the food was very sweet to my taste.

Thank you.

You will teach me how to cook Ekpan with banana

There is no problem about that.

That will be cool, am waiting for the update

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30