#club75 Weekly Traditional Cooking Contest /// Local Dishes /// A Traditional Türk Meal 'Zeytinyağlı Sarma ' Recipe

in Steem-Travelers2 years ago (edited)

Hello to everyone

I have prepared this post to participate in the contest in the Steem-Travelers community.

When you visit my blog, you will realize that I love to cook.
The subject of this competition is local food recipe. I couldn't miss a competition like this.

In this post, I will give you the 'Aegean Style Leaf Wrap with olive oil' recipe.

This dish is a traditional Turkish dish. In fact, we can say that it is more of a hot appetizer than a meal. Me and my little girls love this dish. That's why I do it often.

A dish prepared with several different types. I live in Kilis. In this region, the inner mortar of the meal is prepared a little differently. I cook this dish with the Aegean style that I have eaten and loved since my childhood.

Now let me start explaining the recipe of this delicious dish.

Aegean Style Olive Oil Wrap Recipe

Screenshot_2022-04-15-23-15-30-63_c0d35d5c8ea536686f7fb1c9f2f8f274.jpg

We can say that this dish, the recipe of which I will present to you today, is the most famous dish of the Aegean region.

Required Ingredients

  • Vine Leaf
  • Rice
  • Tomato and Pepper Paste
  • Olive oil
  • Black pepper, paprika, salt
  • Parsley
  • Garlic
  • Onion

Note: I would like to give some information about the ingredients I used in my food.

  • Vine leaves, tomato paste and olive oil organic products.
    My mother, who lives in Izmir, prepares the vine leaves for me. I brine the leaves and use those vine leaves throughout the year.

  • I prepare the tomato and pepper pastes I use myself at the beginning of the autumn season.

  • My husband's grandfather gives us olive oil every year. They produce their olive oil with the olives they collect from their own olive fields.

In this way, using organic products definitely increases the flavor of my food.
If you have the opportunity, I recommend you to use these products organic.

Preparation of Meal

First, we finely chop the onion and garlic.
You can even grate the garlic to make it smaller.

Fry the garlic and onion with plenty of olive oil.

IMG20220412160252.jpg

IMG20220412160259.jpg

IMG20220412160319.jpg


After the onion and garlic are sufficiently roasted, add a tablespoon of tomato paste and a tablespoon of pepper paste.

IMG20220412160633.jpg

IMG20220412160807.jpg


We add the washed and drained rice to the sticks and garlic that are sufficiently roasted together with the tomato paste.
We continue to fry it with rice for a while.

IMG20220412160844.jpg

IMG20220412160905.jpg


Then we add black pepper, salt, and paprika to the inner mortar we prepared and mix it well.

IMG20220412162301.jpg


After turning off the stove, we chop finely and add the parsley to the mortar and mix it well.


This is how the mortar of our food is prepared.
The first and easy stage of the meal is over.
The wrapping part that will really bother us starts now.


For the wrapping part, it is necessary to prepare the vine leaves. If your leaves are fresh, you need to boil them in boiling water for 1-3 minutes. If your leaves are in brine, you need to soak them in water the night before. In this way, we will get rid of excess salt.

I also soaked the vine leaves in water the night before.

Now my vine leaves are ready for our stuffing for wrapping.


Lay the vine leaves on a flat tray or plate. Put some stuffing inside.
(Do this as you see in the photo.)

Then start wrapping the leaf by folding the sides.
Finally, one of our wraps is ready.
Repeat this process until all the stuffing and vine leaves are gone.

IMG20220412162555.jpg

IMG20220412162631.jpg

IMG20220412162636.jpg

IMG20220412174026.jpg


This part may take a few hours if you are a beginner. If you've been winding for years like me, it will take an hour.

IMG20220412174036.jpg


Then, place a few vine leaves on the bottom of the pot where you will cook the wrap.
(We do this to prevent the bottom wraps from burning.)

IMG20220412174212.jpg

Place the wraps you have prepared in the pot in an orderly manner.
(Otherwise, your wraps may open while cooking, and the rice inside may scatter.)

IMG20220412174223.jpg

IMG20220412174418.jpg

IMG20220412174424.jpg

IMG20220412174821.jpg


Then place a plate on the pot. The reason for this is to prevent the wraps from falling apart while our food is boiling.

IMG20220412174848.jpg

IMG20220412174857.jpg

Add one and a half cups of water to the wrap pot and cook over medium heat. Continue cooking until the rice absorbs all the water.

IMG20220412174906.jpg

IMG20220412185844.jpg


After our food is cooked, wait for the first temperature to pass.
You can serve our meal with lemon.

IMG20220412190313.jpg


Note: This dish can be consumed the next day after keeping it in the fridge overnight. It tastes much better this way.


'Sarma' is a very delicious Turkish dish. I recommend you try
Bon appetit to those who will try my recipe.


Thank you for taking your precious time to read my post.


I invite my friends to this competition.

@mesafe
@gulfuren
@bircan

Sort:  

Kalem gibi 😅 elinize emeğinize sağlık Pınar hanım

 2 years ago 

Hola querida amiga, recibe un cordial saludo. Me encantó tu receta 😍 siempre tuve la curiosidad de saber como se preparaba este delicioso plato.

Aqui hay algunos restaurant sirios y libaneses que se dedican a preparar este manjar.

No conocia el nombre real del plato, aqui en Venezuela lo llamamos "Tabaquito de uva" por su forma semejante a un tabaco y uva por ser elaborado con hojas de uva ❤️

Un delicioso plato gracias por compartir.

 2 years ago 

Me alegro que te haya gustado. Creo que definitivamente deberías comer este plato en la región del Egeo de Turquía. Un descanso caliente perfecto.

Loading...

Davet için teşekkür ediyorum 🙏🏻Sarmalar harika görünüyor. Organik yapraklar ile çokta lezzetli olmuştur eminim. Ellerine sağlık. Yaprak sarmasını çok seviyorum ama hazırlaması ve pişirmesi bana çok uzun geliyor. Ben tencereye dik şekilde yerleştiriyorum. Bu şekilde koyunca hepsi aynı eşitlikten pişiyor. Devamlı sarma saran bir teyzeden öğrenmiştim.

Ellerine ve emeğine sağlık. Afiyet olsun 🥰

 2 years ago 

Annemde dik yerleştiriyor. Ben de bazen öyle yapıyorum. Ama bu sefer iki tencerede pişirdim ve bu şekilde dik yerleştirseydim tencereyi dolduramazdım.

 2 years ago 

The food is just as beautiful to look at. It will be very nice to eat. I saw the food today and I will definitely try to make it at home. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us.😍

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through @steemcurator08.
Curated by : @whyshy

IAT.gif

 2 years ago 

Teşekkürler 🤗

 2 years ago 

Hola bella... Realmente me gustó tu receta... tuve la oportunidad de vivir cerca de unas personas nativas de tu tierra y preparon este plato, bien elaborado es muy rico... De verdad en esa ocasión me deleité... Gracias por compartir...

Congratulations!

This post was selected for Lifestyle News First Edition

Regards

@alee75

 2 years ago 

thank you so much. I'm glad you like it 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46