Coming to Nsukka, Enugu State For The First Time.

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago

Moss Green Bordered Armed Forced Day Social Media Graphic.jpg

My First Day In Nsukka, Enugu State.

Introduction, Admission and Preparations

Hii everyone, I trust your day was fine?, Thanks for coming by to read through this article, I just felt I had to use this opportunity to talk about my first day in Nsukka. When I finished secondary school, I was opportuned to enter the university the same year I graduated from secondary school. It's a very hard or rather rare occurrence in my country as young secondary school graduates easily loose vibes to further their education,go to learn handwork under made men or prefer to enter the streets and hustle than to go to the university and get good certificates. Well, in the own case I can full give all the praises and credits to my parents who helped to open up my eyes and and mind to the advantages of being a literate especially in this advanced 21st century where ones can easily be influenced by or with little incentives and deceit. That's not the point tho. I was admitted into one of the most if not the most prestigious Institutions in Nigeria, The University Of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) to study in the Department of Science Laboratory Technology of the 2018 session. On getting the news, my parents were so glad and I was too because I wouldn't be spending another whole year before trying to enter the university again. I think it's one of the best things that happened to me as a young man because by 22 I would have already started life as a full time hustler. My parents began making preparations to send me from Imo State where we live to my place of study at Nsukka, Enugu State.

The Departure

The D-Day of my departure finally came, 20th of January 2019, at exactly 10AM I was already set to leave for Enugu on my already booked flight, I was excited and also anxious, excited for the fact that I would be changing environment for a long time and be able to meet new faces and understand the way of life of people there, I'm an adventure lover by nature and love exploring/ trying out new stuff once in a while and anxious because I would be leaving my lovely family for a long time and would especially miss my Mom for her Fabulous, salivating, and yummy dishes, that thought alone drove me nuts like how would I be catering and cooking for myself to stay healthy.
We landed at the airport in Enugu in just about 25minutes I then had to wait for my Uncle staying at Enugu to come and pick me up but then he disappoint me telling that he couldn't make it to Enugu to come and pick me up after he stood me up for about 3 hours.
At that point I didn't became confused and tired, I was flabbergasted, I didn't know what to do about how I would be getting to my location, I was just soo restless that I began bickering about the whole journey.
I then left the airport for a headstart and got a cab and asked him how I would be getting to my destination and he explained that I would be another one hour journey and that I would have to get to a bus park that would be leaving for my destination and that was all that he could do. I took the shoot and entered the cab and headed for the park and Dammmnnnn!!! Enugu had some really cool places and eateries around town, also had fun parks and an Army school and the main Army Base in the East was also there, it was all a nice view but nothing compared to where I came from tho, Lol.
We got to the park after 30 minutes on the road and I booked my bus to Nsukka which from what I heard wouldn't be funny at all because as I was told, it was going to be a hectic and tiring ride to get to Nsukka on or after 1pm because too many factors could make that journey be soo tiring, The dusty road being one of the most irritating things to my body physiology. Also, The sun alone that shines in Enugu State as whole is enough to melt a 50000 Ton of Ice Cream in 5 minutes, I really understand that the Ozone Layer Depletion phenomenon was real and is now eating up our ecosystem because only from the name Enugu in Igbo meaning Up The Hill is enough to explain to a native lay man of Igbo tribe that it's one of the States in Nigeria that is closest to the sun having hills, mountains and valleys as one of their geographical features, I think now I kinda like find it amazing tho because it has now been known to geographers and highland tourists as one of the best places to explore land variations in Nigeria.
Well I had no other option, I just hopped in anyway, the bus was full after about another 40 minutes and we set up and already started feeling the discomfort of traveling to Nsukka so I just made good use of my earpiece at that time and went to sleep all through the journey.

Arrival To Destination

We got to Nsukka after about 50 minutes of the journey and wow I was guessing the driver was some sort of reckless speedster or perhaps a mad car Roadster at his early 30s, anyways thanked God for being on his bus. People began dropping by the roadside just before the park mehhnnn!! I started getting confused and thought maybe I've already passed my destination as we were only about half a dozen out of more than a score of passengers, I began putting calling across to my uncle who am to stay in his for him to tell me where I would be dropping off and I was told to reach the bus stop and I guess that it got my mind at ease.
We arrived at the bus stop and he was already waiting there and I took my luggages and pulled over to his car and we headed home, I had my shower and rushed to sleep.
It was a really long day and just had to rest and on my bed I was then drowned in thoughts "So if just trying to resume school was this stressful how would my stay in the University be??". I think that feeling alone made me panic.
In the evening, we ate a special delicacy taken very well in Nsukka, "Okpa" and it made me love the new environment more. I just headed for my room after clearing up the table and getting to meet the new family I would be staying with in Nsukka in the meantime. Did I say meantime?, Sorry!! I meant for 5 long years of my life, shitt was about getting real.
The following day started my clearance which I completed with 4 stressful days, then got my registration number, then officially kicked off class attendance the following week. Secured a lodge 2 weeks later, then started the real independent confusing and kinda frustrating youthful studying life right away. In all, till today I think it ll'd be alright to say that studying in the higher institution in your youthful years is one of the most crazy times to experience the wild life and do all sorts of crazy things that you would regret and the ones you ll'd also learn from but if you ask me I ll'd say that "I would love it any other way".

IMG-20210905-WA0006.jpg

Above is the picture of my first day in the Institution of University Of Nigeria, Nsukka.
Thanks for reading through my article, Don't forget to leave a comment below and tell me what part of the story got you fascinated, Thank You.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I congratulate you on your admission to a prestigious University. I imagine the joy of your parents for you to continue your university studies. It's good that you continued to prepare because your studies open the doors and assure you great success. Blessings for your parents and for you. Successes.

#travelers-say

Thanks alot Madam, I'll d study to show myself approved.

 3 years ago 

Very valuable travel experience. Since it is your first trip to the state, of course it will be very impressive.

Great post, but it would be better if you added some more supporting photos to your post.

Report :

  • steemexclusive : YES
  • plagiarism : NO
  • bid bot : NO

Author SBD : 4.012 SBD

Total Steem PowerUp : 88.063 STEEM POWERED Up

Author SBD To Steem : 34.045 STEEM

Steem Transferred Out : 0 Steem Transferred Out (SBD part has been converted into Steem)

Thanks sir, please ensure to leave a vote on the post

 3 years ago 

What a post dear.
It’s really amazing. Thank you for Sharing.

#Travelers-say

Thanks alot Sir, I need your upvotes and perhaps booming's support 😩

 3 years ago 

Oh wow you stay in nsukka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70