You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No More Powerlines - The Future of Electrical Production Is Small Scale and Local

in Informationwar5 months ago

On my electric bill is a bar graph that shows each months usage for a year. For almost a year ago last June I had my one son and his girlfriend lose their place due to a fire. They lived with me for almost a year. I had three months in the summer when the rates are higher (between 2 and 7 pm they charge more during the summer). I had to take in my other son and his family last Sept and the rates skyrocketed. So I sat down with the kids and tried to explain that when they couldn't reach the switch, that was one thing, keeping it on for them was easier than running to the bathroom each time one of them had to go, but now they can reach it so they had to start teaching themselves that turning off a light needs to come natural. I showed them how they cost me more than when four other people lived here with me, and seventy percent more with them, one extra person shouldn't cost that much more, versus living here alone. Actually seeing it and showing them the fifty dollar line versus the hundred and twenty dollar line and asking them what would you do if you had that seventy dollars to spend on something else. It worked pretty good advising them that eventually it'll just become natural and you won't be giving your money away to the electric company, they've actually been stopping themselves and going back in to turn off the light. lol.

Sort:  

That is one thing about creating almost unlimited energy is no one thinks about not wasting power by leaving the light on.

I hope you are easily able to afford the extra bill.
Many on a fixed budget can't. And next winter may kille them.

That was one thing I made perfectly clear to them, anything above what I was paying they had to pay. It's one thing to have let them stay (they finally moved yesterday), but it's another thing to let them cost you extra at their own fiscal negligence. I told them the same thing about the gas, if I caught them turning it up and the bill skyrocketed, they'd have to pay. The gas bill this year was pretty reasonable so I had no problem with that.

I am glad you set things up, up front.
I often don't even ask, even after i drained all my reserves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46