Traditional Spinning Top

in CCS2 years ago

I found this ornament in the kitchen of my workplace. At first, I was not that interested in the history and origin of this ornament. Not until I have to clean them and pay more attention to them. Finding out that they are made of metal intrigues me to learn more about this ornament.

DSC04038.jpg

Turns out they are called Begasingan. It is a traditional spinning top from the neighboring island of Lombok. And I was like shaking my head when I learn more about them. I was never expecting that this ornament is from Indonesia, especially since it is from a neighboring island.

DSC04040.jpg

They have a colorful art piece on top of the spinning top, while the bottom side is a bit pointy and is made from iron, so they are really strong. They will be collided by the owner when there is a match of this begasingan and the last one standing is the winner.

DSC04042.jpg


DSC04043.jpg


DSC04047.jpg


DSC04048.jpg

Sort:  

I could never figure out a riddle what it is and what is it for! my guess it could be a shield?.. ancient spiked shield..

actually, it is a traditional game.
something like this

 2 years ago 

Looks interesting though I don't know it is for.

it is for a game actually my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43