My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | Oddernes, a church with a history that goes back to the Middle Ages (Norway) | #steemexclusive / 7 photos

in CCSlast year

DSC_01.JPG

Oddernes church is located in Kristiansand, southern Norway, which is probably the sixth or seventh largest city in Norway. The area called Oddernes is only a 5-minute walk from where I live, so I often pass by here. When I want to take the bus, my nearest bus stop is here, next to the church. This area have had settlements for hundreds of years. Archaeological discoveries around Oddernes and the surrounding areas prove that people have lived here as far back as to 400 AD. There is also an assumption that there was a royal farm here before 800 AD.




This small stone church was built sometime between 1150 and 1200. A sign is set up at the entrance where we find information about the year of construction, expansion etc. In the year 1636 it was expanded and in 1788 it got a new roof inside. It's a beautiful little church with a long history. When we take a walk around it on the outside we can see that it has its origins in the Middle Ages. The chancel is semicircular, which is typical for that period. Part of the wall here is built in wood, which indicates it was done much later.




I have been inside the church several times, but it's a long time ago. I remember I have seen a rune stone in the armory. I believe it is still there, but the church door has been locked every time I have tried to get inside. The rune stone originally stood outside in the cemetery. It tells in runic script about the local community and also refers to Olav the Holy who was king of Norway from 1015 -1028. As I remember the interior, then some of it is old. The church is worth seeing inside. I have managed to find out that from mid July there will be an open church with guided tours. For tourists ofcourse. But that might be the way for me to get inside too.


Powering up 100% of all liquid payout! Thanks for the support for making this possible for me each week lately, ty! 😂👍


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next travel post. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest powerup post, check out :
My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | The Child Wanderes Trail in southern Norway (part 2) | #steemexclusive / 10 photos


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Follow us for our blogs about travel, art, article and photo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30