Steemit Engagement Challenge | S14W3 | Parent's Strict Behavior and Children's Mental Health

in Steem4Bloggers7 months ago

pexels-august-de-richelieu-4260102.jpg
Pexels

Parent's Strict Behavior and Children's Mental Health:
Hello steemians, I hope you're enjoying the new week and will make it as fruitful as possible. This is a very interesting topic that personally affects me in terms of my upbringing. I grew up under a very strict single parent(dad). This had it's advantages and disadvantages on my life. I will take you through it all.

pexels-greta-hoffman-9706144.jpg
Pexels

Advantages of Strict Behavior:

  1. Discipline and Structure: Strict parenting can instill discipline in a child and provide a well structured environment for children to know their rules and boundaries.
  2. Sense of Responsibility: Growing up under my dad made me develop a strong sense of responsibility and accountability for my actions. For anything I did I was sure of consequences so I tried to avoid them.

pexels-karolina-grabowska-6957154.jpg
Pexels

Disadvantages of Strict Behavior:

  1. Rebellion: Strictness may provoke rebellious behavior in some children, leading to defiance and opposition to authority. I can say this from personal experience. I most times used to revolt against my dad.
  2. Low Self-Esteem: Low self-esteem is what I have been battling for many years due to my dad's strictness. Children raised in excessively strict environments may develop low self-esteem, as they may feel incapable of meeting their parents' expectations.
  3. Strained Parent-Child Relationships: Strictness that is without warmth and emotional support is known to strain the parent-child relationship, affecting communication and trust. I and my dad did not have a good relationship. I was always afraid of him.

🙍 What do you feel if you were at the place of such children who have to face strictness?:
I was in the place of children facing strictness, I felt a mix of pressure, frustration, and a longing for understanding. Strictness created a challenging emotional environment, and I longed for empathy and support from my dad.

🙍 As a child, what do you expect from your parents regarding their behavior:
As a child, I expected my dad to create a nurturing environment for me to grow. To correct me with love. To be patient and understanding with me.

🙍 Negative Effects of Emotional Blackmailing:
Emotional blackmail is the manipulation of someone emotionally to control or influence them. Some negative effects include:
It can induced the feeling of guilt and shame in the victim.
It can also strain the relationship and cause trust to be lost.

  1. Guilt and Shame: Emotional blackmail can induce feelings of guilt and shame in the victim, leading to a sense of inadequacy.

CONCLUSION
To roundup, while some level of structure and discipline is beneficial for children, too much strictness from parents can have detrimental effects on a child's mental health and overall health. I believe when I become a dad, I and my wife will create a nurturing and well-balanced environment for our kids to grow. Yes we will be strict but we won't be over strict. I won't like what happened to me to happen to my children.

Thank you for your time reading. I invite @vudeme123, @bossj23 and @mesola to join this contest.

Steem on

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For December 2023 Curated by - <@ashkhan>

 7 months ago 

Hola!
Justo como mencionaste, los niños con padres estrictos deben sentir frustración cuando no les permiten hacer algo que es totalmente normal en otro niños, también imagino que se frustran o piensan que defraudaran a sus padres cuando no sacan las mejores notas etc. Yo tengo padres medianamente estrictos, me dan cierta libertad de la que no abuso, pero a la vez son protectores conmigo. Éxitos en el concurso.

 7 months ago 

Los niños se siente frustrado cuando los padres no lo dejan hacer lo mismo que hacen otros niños
Aunque ser estricto trae sus ventajas también trae desventajas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64