Steemit Engagement Challenge | S14W3 | Parent's Strict Behavior and Children's Mental Health

in Steem4Bloggers7 months ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to my blog. Guess we are doing great. Acts of strictness may not be as bad viewed from the contest. However, we have to differentiate between strictness and discipline. There is a thine line that makes it abusive which is no longer for correction.

image.png
pixabay source

🙍 What are the advantages and disadvantages of parents strict behavior?

I have no worries about parents being strict with their children but only concerned about how they are carried out. There are different ways of carrying out strictness but we have to apply caution in whichever case.

Acts of strictness by default sends signals or message to the kids that daddy or mummy will not tolerate that misgivings. The kids already know their parent's actions even before they act ill.

Strict parents instill discipline into their kids. This is seen by vehemently refusing wrongdoings no matter who is involved. This helps to build their morals and ensure there is even irresponsibility for everyone.

But one demerit about this is that when overstretched, kids tend to have tough skin on those punishments. They say, after all, is it not a punishment that I will get? Over familiarity with a pattern from the parents.

It can also lead to timidity. Kids may live in fear and find it difficult to express themselves freely. We all know the danger of this as this pits our kids in a danger we hope never existed.

🙍 What would you feel if you were in the place of such children who have to face strictness?

I grew up in a home where discipline was the hallmark of the home. My mom being a teacher cannot instill that into other kids at school and abandon her own at home. We got it raw, and she followed through with us to the latter. I wouldn't know if this was largely different from a strict parent.

However, this does not stop the jokes, fun, and laughter that follow up when we are all good and acting responsibly. Except that's the case of a strict home. Strictness, I have faced and tasted at different times but that didn't make me worse.

image.pngParent to Child Discipline

pixabay

The only thing that made it a cruise was the carrot-and-stick approach that created the most needed balance at home. However, I have seen where it was out of hand the kids developed an approach likened to being rebellious.

Therefore, I am someone who can adapt to any situation. I behave like Romans when in Rome, so being in a strict room wouldn't be an issue for me that should be viewed otherwise. So far it is tailored towards correction void of personal grudges.

🙍 As a child, what do you expect from your parents regarding their behavior?

When was a child, I received a full dose of discipline and that is what I would still want to receive if a child. This may not sound palatable especially when I was a child but what does it profit me to be treated with kid gloves and find it difficult to navigate through life in my adulthood?

The behaviors of our parents then looked so much like they hated us given their treatment to us but these are all corrective measures to us for a better and healthier lifestyle in the future.

I remember having some challenging disagreements with my mom even during my university days. Her grip did not leave me each time I came back home for the holidays. One thing those treatments have afforded me was that, when I'm outdoors, I keep having a reflection of her with me before handling tasks.

If my conscience tells me that this won't go down well with her if she gets to know about it, then I have to retreat from it. In a nutshell, I don't think being strict overrules the importance of discipline.

Therefore, I will still want to have a behavioral pattern where my parents are disciplined enough to correct some foundational errors in children.

image.png
pixabay source

🙍 What are the negative effects of emotional blackmailing?

It subjects one to self-pity. A situation where there is a loss of confidence. A child who continually receives such strict treatment without a relative balance may feel less of him or herself in handling tasks.

It also creates fear in them each they see you because their belief system is that they might be wrong and who knows what they would be told this time.

It might also drive them out in the course of looking for succor and if they receive anything close to what gives them less, they quickly align and get wild and start living in deceit.

Conclusion

Child discipline or Strictness at home should be done in moderation. We parents should be able to clearly state our boundaries, and create enabling balance to douse any tension created by our behavioral patterns.

Thank you and remain blessed.

I would be inviting @ruthjoe, @eveetim, @okere-blessing

Sort:  
 7 months ago 

I totally agree with your view points about this topic.

Self pity and fear Is a terrible state any child should not be in. I can also add that it can contribute to low self esteem too.

Yes been strict does not over rule discipline in a home. There must be discipline to bud better children.

Best wishes in your entry.

 7 months ago 

Exactly, low self esteem was the word I was looking for. Thanks for responding.

Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Congratulations!
This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06 for containing good quality content.


Curated by : @eliany

 7 months ago 

Hello friend greetings to you. Hope you are enjoying your life there.

You are in favor of parents strictness. You think it install discipline in the kids, but it's demerit is that such kids in order to avoid punishment from the parents, they tell lie. I completely agree with your this point. Even I can say I have seen such cases.

I think parents need a moderate behavior toward their kids. The strictness shouldn't exceed the limit.

wishing you success here. Best of luck.

 7 months ago 

Moderation has always been the answer. Instill telling of the truth in them and exonerate them from punishment whenever they do. Discipline should precipitate telling of lies.
Thank you for engaging.

Love if you do it right, punishment if you do things wrong, I think most people have been raised like this and well, nowadays there are too many complaints about it, but at the end of the day this is one of the ways to raise children. Why would this be reality?

 7 months ago 

Exactly my point and thoughts. Most of us were raised like this and never complained about any complexities but the story isn't the same again. Thanks for reaching out

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Very detailed explanation, being strict to some extent cannot be totally rolled away in parenting but you should differentiate between that and discipline. Being born to very strict parents has helped me not to miss my step in order not to face a situation I may not like.

 7 months ago 

That is the point. Not many would see these views differently. Thank you, @eveetim for responding.

 7 months ago 

Saludos amigo en la educación de los niños siempre tiene que haber un equilibrio no hay que ser ni demasiado estricto pero tampoco demasiado permisivo los padres tienen el derecho de imponer normas en su hogar y que esta se cumplan y a los hijos les toca ser obediente sin embargo el padre tiene que hacer esta norma se cumpla de la manera de vida no irritando al niño ya que esto me trae graves consecuencias en su desarrollo emocional

 7 months ago 

You have also shared a good point of view here. Creating a pattern and balance that supports it is very essential.

Of course, I completely agree with you that it is necessary for parents to be a little strict to build the future morals of children. So that children develop a sense of discipline and responsibility. But this strictness should also be within limits. Because if at one moment you are scolding the children, then at the next moment love the children also, so that the balance is maintained.

 7 months ago 

Balancing is the key word. We have to balance every of our activities. Thanks

Always welcome my friend xkool24

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64