Contest !! ||VEGANS VS NON-VEGANS

in Steem4Bloggers4 months ago

I am not a vegetarian

and certainly not vegan (a veganist), at least not by choice. I believe everyone should eat the type of food their body needs to feel good or... what they can afford to buy.
I am old enough to have participated in all kinds of diets for at least 4 decennial, and have heard a lot of nonsense about nutrition. Most of what is said about nutrition is the result of food industry advertising. The food pyramid, which is adjusted every few years, has also been set up by food manufacturers. Entire countries fall for what is preached, especially in the Western world where consuming vitamin pills and energy drinks is a mega source of income.

No food manufacturer is concerned with keeping humanity healthy. It is the illusion that an emblem or so-called quality mark on a package presents us with something healthy that makes us decide to buy that expensive pack of breakfast cereals or sweets with added vitamin C.

After decades of commercials and brainwashing, entire nations sincerely believe that eggs are unhealthy, milk will kill you, cooking yourself is an impossibility task and McDonalds sells healthy and cheap salads.

If it comes to fastfood I never really liked it, so I am not a customer of all those restaurants who can't cook and my children don't want to eat anything there either. Not only because of the price but also the taste which is disappointing and not very different from what is available in the supermarkets overhere: ready-to-go cooked meals with a high dose of chemicals and salt, or K2 fruit and vegetables that are either old or heavily covered in pesticides.

I find it increasingly difficult to buy decent food,

especially when the budget for groceries is tight.
Once it is winter nothing grows and those who feel cold would rather eat a hot meal than chew on a lettuce leaf and raw carrot. In addition, the gas used for cooking does not burn properly when it is cold. Cooking takes longer and a nice roasted piece of meat is difficult.

To my opinion a vegan lifestyle

isn't healthy, a vegetarian might be, but not vegan so I am non-vegan. Essential vitamins like vitamine B12 are missed. There's a good reason why herbivores have a special digestion. Nothing is so hard to digest as plants. If a human could take enough vitamine B12 out of plants at all he needs at least to eat a truck load of vegetables, raw vegetables!

I try to live healthy but it's hard.
What I try to avoid is palm fat, oil from seeds and trans fat. These fats/oils are harmful and I feel bad that I ever served it to my children. The world in which they have to live and breathe is already polluting enough.

We do not smoke, drink alcohol and only drink coffee sporadically. We also do not drink while eating, to make it easier for the food to digest.


20240130_163437.jpg"roomboter", real butter made of cow milk

Only my children eat bread.

I bake bread myself out of flour, salt with iodine, fresh yeast, sometimes I add some olive oil or real butter (no margarine!) and sometimes linseed or poppy seeds.

In addition to butter, I also try to buy cheese. Gouda cheese, Brie, Parmesan and Cheddar. We all love cheese and eat it plain, on bread sometimes on macaroni or vegetables such as broccoli, spinach or cauliflower.


20240201_163219.jpg
Anise powder

We have been drinking more milk in recent weeks.
This is often diluted with water and we add anise or cocoa. Milk is food, not a drink and it keeps the body warm. I also make my own yoghurt, semolina pudding, custard or chocolate custard out of the milk we buy if there's enough milk. In any case, making it myself saves on the addition of chemicals, salt and excessive sugar.

I notice that my children have a need for meat.

That started at the age of three. When a body asks for it, it is important to give in. A nutrient deficiency is always noted too late. As a parent, I also believe that the health of my children comes first. So I try to buy some fresh fruit and vegetables in the hope that the food will look and taste a little less monotonous. If there is nothing fresh for sale or something I can afford, we eat frozen or canned vegetables. Just like me, the children love beans, but I notice that my intestines have difficulty digesting different types of food. Vegetables in particular often make me feel sick for days (cabbage, legumes, onions, carrots, corn, lettuce), as does bread (I don't eat it, nor do I eat pizza or pasta).

Recently my son bought meat.

We mainly eat minced meat, chicken, sometimes turkey or a thin slice of pork. The stores are selling less and less and we only go shopping once or twice a month which doesn't make it easier to find some meat. So we always have to think about what we should prepare next if we eat the same meat again.
I do miss beef and fish and all the good food from my childhood, the variety of taste.

When I look at my children's plates, it makes me sad that they get so little to eat.
They don't complain, but just like before we did the groceries at the end of the month, the refrigerator is usually empty.


20240131_173847.jpg

Minced meat it is!

I season it with salt and pepper and sometimes curry, garlic, red pepper, nutmeg, and soy sauce. A raw egg is added if available (it can be done without if your meat is ice cold)
Sometimes I add crumbled crackers or rusk. However, that is not necessary.
With a spoon I made balls from the minced meat and seared them in butter. Added 1 red pepper cut into pieces, some tomato ketchup, bay leaf (I love the smell of it) and a little water and then on a low heat until the meat is done.


20240201_163459.jpgI cut the potatoes into small pieces which reduces the boiling time

We only buy potatoes if they are new. This means we can eat the peel plus I do not like to peel potatoes. Most of the vitamins are contained in and under the peel, so we hopefully eat something healthy on those rare occasions we buy potatoes (two till three times a year?).

I doubt whether there is a high concentration of vitamin in fruit and vegetables.
Some scientists say the quality, taste and vitamin content of fruit and vegetables have deteriorated sharply over 50-100 years and I think this is true. What is exported overhere isn't the finest quality. Sometimes I wonder if healthy food still exists. Chemically ripened vegetables and fruits are something that is considered very normal these days.


20240201_164033.jpgFruit my son could find, it will be affected by the cold if not eaten fast.

My children are not very concerned

with their health if it comes to the choice of food. They prefer to eat meat but are happy with whatever is on their plate. A bowl of plain rice will not be rejected and it's fine if it does not cost too much. My children will not easily buy something to eat when they go to school or are at work. They will not easily accept food being offered and rather take something from home than buy in a shop. If that's not possible they don't eat anything till they are back home.


All photos are taken by me
1-2-2024
I am a mobile user only 
10% is for the community I posted in 
25% to @null


This contest is hosted by @khursheedanwar.


I invite @gertu, @sacra97, @sariana23 and @jaynie to join this contest.

#steemexclusive #club5050 #vegans-nonvegans #holland #kittywu #health #life
Sort:  

Thanks for the invite. i agree with most of the products you consume and the ones you have discarded.
Here I add olive oil to my salads, it is a very expensive oil here. And for cooking I use lard.
We eat butter and not margarine, I also eliminated seed oil.
I am lucky to have my poultry here because when I need it I eat their meat. My son and I like quail meat.

Eggs are healthy and quail eggs are much healthier. We eat them almost daily. In salads, in mayonnaise, in fried foods, in my cakes and muffins and much more.

I could never be just a vegetarian. I like to eat my vegetables and greens and I like meats too.

Olive oil is expensive with us too. Over 10 euros for 750 ml. Olives do not grow here so it's import. I do not use much and we rare eat salad with oil.

What makes quail eggs healthier?

Thanks for reading and commenting.

❤️🍀

 4 months ago 

Such a nice and detailed description about vegan and non vegan. You have done very creative writing. Hope for the best in contest.

Thank you for reading and commenting.
I appreciate it.
A great, healthy day to you.
❤️🍀

 4 months ago 

My pleasure

Loading...

Hi @wakeupkitty, excellent writing regarding vegan and non-vegan food.

Like you, I am not vegan, I like to eat both vegetables and meats of different types. The body asks for what it needs, and we should give it what we can afford.

The important thing is that these foods are as healthy as possible and fresh, because although we must give the body what it requires, we must also stay healthy to have a long life without health problems, product of poor dietary intake.

Thank you for the invitation, greetings, and blessings.

Very well said dear friend.
Enjoy your meals, stay healthy and I wish you a great weekend.

Blessed be ❤️🍀

 4 months ago 

Your thoughtful reflection on food choices and nutrition is insightful. It's evident that you prioritize your family's health and well-being. The emphasis on avoiding harmful fats making your own bread and incorporating fresh ingredients into your meals shows a dedication to providing nutritious options. Balancing your children's preferences and nutritional needs is a challenging but essential aspect of parenting. Your approach to meat consumption seasoning, and preparing meals demonstrates a mindful and responsible approach to food. Wishing you continued success in creating wholesome and satisfying meals for your family 🍲🌱

Thanks for reading and commenting. I find it a bit hard to read comments like yours. It's more than a short version of what I wrote.
It would be nice to read your opinion if it comes to vegan - nonvegan. This way we could learn from each other and who knows even get a change of mind?

I wish you a great, healthy weekend.
❤️🍀

 4 months ago 

I enjoyed reading your post. You explained each point thoroughly, which was great. It's commendable that you choose healthy foods over fast food, showing your care for your children's health.

Thank you for reading and commenging, it's highly appreciated you took the time to do so.

My only worry is that what is sold to prepare food out isn't healthy either. I guess we know more in ten or 20 years.
Perhaps by then all people believe Bill Gates' fake good is the only right food to eat?

I wish you all the best ❤️🍀

Thanks for sharing such an awesome post

@wakeupkitty

Each one of the five content creators featured in the Blog Spotlight Posts will receive 10% of the total rewards accumulated, as well as a 100% upvote and resteem from this account. Let's help one another to grow and connect with awesome bloggers and content creators in this space!

HAVE A LOVE-FILLED DAY!!

With hugs from...

image.png

Nice written dear, wishing you all the best in this contest

Thank you. All the best and good luck to you. 👋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67104.23
ETH 3509.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21