Say No To Smoking - Low educated, anti-social people smoke!

in Steem4Bloggers8 months ago (edited)

Always making excuses that's what smokers do if they can't give up on smoking. Both my exes were heavy smokers and couldn't give up on it. To be honest, I do not care if these people die of cancer, what is worse is that those forced "to smoke along" (inhale the smoke) suffer from lung diseases and cancer more frequently than the smoker himself. I feel for all those children growing up with parents smelling after cigarettes.
You can call me harsh, rude, or whatever but I don't care. If I eat candies 24/7 it's my health, my body I damage not my children's, my partner's, my friends, or those of strangers on the bus, in shops, or in restaurants.

My( grand)parents were non-smokers.

I do not remember one single family member who smoked, so indeed you might say that I am lucky not to have grown up in a house that, even those who walk by, can recognize as the house of a smoker.
Smokers smell, or should I say stink, and not only if they are smoking. Each time they speak you smell the nicotine, if they walk by or walk two meters in front of you, you smell them. It's as terrible as men using too much aftershave or women too much perfume. It literally takes my breath away.

Smokers do not taste and smell as good as non-smokers, at least if it comes to those not being forced to be around smokers. I always wondered why smokers eat in fancy restaurants if they can't taste what the cook put his heart and soul into. The worst experience for me is to make a reservation and sit next to a table of smokers. Public transport has always been hell too (a good reason to buy my own car). I feel for those who can't stand the smell or get breathing issues because of the smell of tobacco (it's not about cigarettes only but cigars, and pipe smell too just like the e-cigarettes which are already forbidden here because they are even more dangerous to a person's life). If you want to smoke pull a bag on your head and enjoy all the smoke and extras you can have from your cigarette.

In the past 5 decennia,

I learned that reason can not be talked into smokers.
The smoker doesn't care about his health, cancer, coughing his lungs out, being infertile, having a shorter life span, or smelling worse than a wet dog. All those pictures printed on the packages they buy do not impress the smoker. They are blind if it comes to reason, their health, and the health of those they claim they love, and if it comes to ugly pictures: one gets used to everything.
A smoker smokes because in his opinion it's a cool thing to do, and if there's someone to blame it is the tobacco industry. Friends and families shouldn't complain nonstop because smoking isn't that bad at all.

The average smoker gets aggressive if you try to be supportive, calculate how much money can be saved, how different food will taste, and how good everything will smell. Why should a smoker care about health if smoking is the only thing he enjoys in life and it keeps him slim?

To me breaking up the relationship was the best thing I could do.
Perhaps I even helped one ex since he said giving up on smoking was the best thing he ever did (next step giving up on being an alcoholic?). The other ex still smokes and like he said: I will continue doing it because you don't marry me. Sure, that will be the reason. Sounds to me like being manipulative, and playing the one to be pitied is an attitude of smokers as well. If it comes to smokers they aren't the people with a strong will otherwise they wouldn't smoke. To me, it's as simple as that. If you are not a personality and do not have a strong character you easily give in to whatever others offer you or try to force upon you. I spent enough years of my life trying to save people, people who do not want to change. I didn't have an easy life myself, plenty of reasons to be an addict, and of course, people did offer me a cigarette but I always rejected it with the words: I do not smoke. No one said I was a loser because I didn't smoke.

I remember I was at high school about 12 or 13 years old.
Through the hallway. this slogan was written: Roken is niet stoer en het het helpt geen moer, dus je bent een oen als je het blijft doen (smoking isn't cool and it doesn't help, you are a fool if you keep doing it). This was over 40 years ago and back then in Dutch schools, students already fought smokers

For many years I was not able to go out, visit a restaurant, go to a discotheque or cafe just because of the smokers. Being surrounded by people holding a burning cigarette is not my idea of having fun: burned clothes, skin, stinking hair, and clothes and ending up sick because of someone else's a-social attitude. Smokers spoiled many years of my social life and today I am happy smoking in public areas is forbidden. Let the smoker smoke at home, preferably in his room. neighbors are not confronted with if they enjoy sitting outside.

If a smoker gets ill because of smoking he should pay for the doctor himself or not receive medical help. I don't think nonsmokers should pay the bill like happens in my country where health insurance is so expensive that many can no longer afford to pay for it.


Can a smoking doctor be taken seriously if it comes to your health?

People in certain professions should be nonsmokers and if you ask me cigarettes can be forbidden. Of course that will never happen because the tobacco tax is high and the state fills its pockets with unhealthy products, so does the tobacco industry and big pharma.

Today I am not surrounded by smokers.

No one in my family, nor my friends smoke. After years of suffering because of smokers, I deleted all those people from my life decennial ago.
Today smoking is no longer allowed in hospitals (that it was permitted was already ridiculous), schools, public transport, restaurants, bars and so on which makes the lives of many so much easier. Only once in a while, I meet a rude smoker, a person who blows the smoke in your face just like you see in those old American films.

The cigarette commercials no longer exist

but I can still remember the smoking cowboy promoting cigarettes or those Camel deserts. Can be those men looked cool for a generation or two but they have something in common with today's smokers: a low education and lack of self-esteem. If self-esteem has to be brought by a cigarette the case is already lost. No cigarette can do that.

If it comes to low education: these are the main smokers in my country and most likely in every developed country. Educated people live a healthier life, care more, and have more awareness.
That cool guy with the cigarette no longer exists, he's dead and buried. Society's opinion changed. Life is no longer about "adventure" but education. Those who were cool once are labeled as low-educated, low-ranked, and anti-social people today, and these are the persons you rather avoid than be close with.
Say no to smoking? I rather say: Say no to the smoker!


2-2-2024
I'm a mobile user only

This contest is hosted by @abdullahw2 in Steem4bloggers!
I invite @gertu, @blessedlife, @sacra97

#health

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 8 months ago 

Your perspective on smoking is quite clear and it's evident that you have strong feelings about the impact of smoking on individuals and society. Its understandable that you prioritize a smoke free environment for personal and public well-being. Your experiences have shaped a firm stance on the matter, and it's interesting to see your perspective on the challenges of dealing with smokers. Wishing you continued comfort in a smoke-free space and a healthier environment

If it comes to my experiences smokers can only help themselves. If they are not willing to give up on what they like they should pay the price for it, not those who try to live a healthy life.

It would be nice to hear your opinion, or how society feels about smokers in the country your live.

Stay healthy. ❤️🍀

 8 months ago 

Indeed we should quit smoking as it is a leading cause of cancer.

And many more diseases like yelloe/brown teeth, fingertops, aging skin,lung diseases, lost of taste, lost of smell... and so on.

If people love to smoke it's fine with me but do it inside your room, put a bag over your head, and do not put others in danger with your behaviour. Plus: count on the fact that you label yourself as a low-ranked, anti-social, low educated person which is what a person with a bit self respect shouldn't do.

A great, healthy weekend to you.

 8 months ago 

My pleasure brother

 8 months ago 

So nice to read your impressive entry dear friend. Thank you so much for participating and sharing a beautiful post with us. Good luck 🤞

Thank you for your compliment. 🙂

A great weekend to you.

 8 months ago 

Assalam Alaikum brother, I hope you will be well. I like your participation in this contest very much and as you have mentioned in the title, anti-social people smoke, you have proved it from the title itself. That you are against it and hate people who smoke or don't like them is a different matter because some of our relatives are included in it but you don't like the fact that they smoke. Do or harm your life and you explained very well how we can guide someone to quit smoking. The blog has been written and you will learn a lot from it and teach your friends and also guide those people who smoke in their house or among their relatives or friends.

I hope I made clear I do not like smokers but how those smokers are seen by society today is something every smoker should know.

I will never understand why people label themselves like that unless they aren't aware of how society sees them.

Loading...
 8 months ago 

Hi! Please excuse me for the late answering.
I agree with you smoking is awful, I really hate cigarettes and smoke since very young. And I can't tell I don't have bad feelings towards smokers nowadays, it annoys me too much Smalling their smoke. In my family a pair a uncle's smoked, but I don't think it's all about education, in fact I think muy aunt started smoking at the University at the time of those commercials by the influence of he rates who were from higher social class, but once she decided to quit smoking, she did.
When it comes to addicts, I understand it differently, I think they have an issue to solve, in that case it's necessary to go through what causes that addiction, no directly to the substance they use to hide it. Of course, it damages other people, they should consider that, so it makes the problem worst.

Thanks for the invitation, I have being kind of busy but this is a very important topic.

I agree that smokers have an issue. I don't know how old your aunts were but can be it was part of a certain culture (what cigarette do you smoke doctor?) although the doctors, midwives and do on in my family never smoked. 😉

It indeed is an important topic and to be honest I am happy not one of my children was ever intetested in smoking.

It took me the entire day to write my entry, time to prepare some chicken for the children.

Do not worry if you have no time to respond I understand. My list with notifications never seem to end. 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61875.77
ETH 2403.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64