My town in five Pics- Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

in Steem4Bloggers10 months ago

Am I the only guy who feel shy taking pictures in public spaces? The eyes that are always on me, whenever I take all this picture scares me! I wonder how you ladies do it, taking pictures so comfortably in public without been shy. Sincerely speaking/ writing, before I’ll finish all this contest that requires me taking pictures in different places, I’m believing that the spirit of shame would have left me. But let’s look at the bright side, the rewards that comes with it is “soothing to the soul”. I know some of my friends and boss who won’t hesitate to jump on this contest. @bossj23, @blessingogah and @allison001.


So, lets begin our Journey:


NIGERIAN LAW SCHOOL

what3words

Early hours of the morning, I said let me go and start taking pictures of some important places since is close to my work place. I went under the “overhead bridge” to take some clear shots of the law school in Port-Harcourt, the kind of scary faces I saw there that morning, I couldn’t risk bringing out my phone before “niggas” that are stronger than me, snatch the phone from my hand. In Port Harcourt, you have to be at high alert all the time. So, I’d to climb the overhead bridge to take the picture of the most prestigious Nigeria Law School in Rivers state. The school is so fine. This is one of the beautiful structure we will remember Ezenwo Nyesom Wike for…. Former Governor and current minister of FCT. I know it must have cost him an arm and a leg to be able to lobby to bring Law school to rivers state and to build it. When you see the young lawyers with their white shirt glittering like snow, you will want to be a lawyer. The structure there is top notch. Abuja law school, use to be the talk of the town but with Port Harcourt law school and their state of the art library and classes, I can bet, Abuja law students will be wishing they were here!!!


NIGERIAN STORED PRODUCTS RESEARCH INSTITUTE

what3words


As I continue my missionary journey of taking pictures that I wanted to showcase for this contest, I boarded a bus to stop at a research institute. I didn’t even know we have such facilities in Port Harcourt until now. I was curious to find out what they do there because i have always wondered what is the use of **“minister of agriculture”** in a country were food is so expensive and we still import almost all the food we eat, when we’re blessed with a very good soil that can grow most of the food we eat. The worse of them is **minister in charge of research and technology**. Till date, I’m yet to see what that ministry have solved or invented in Nigeria. I approached one of the I.T student outside the gate since they won’t allow me enter the compound. I was a bit amazed at what I find out. She said what they do inside their office is to research into the problem Nigeria face when exporting large quantities of our products outside the country. They try to improve and maintain the quality of the product with some preservatives, so that when they export it, it will still be looking fresh and free from pest. Jokingly, I asked her, what have she contributed in the research so far!! She started laughing. 😂 This I.T student in particular was so cute. In fact, the more she smiled, the more I forgot what I came for and was falling in love. This girl nearly made me arrive work late. Before she gave me her phone number, it took almost 10 minutes of begging. Don’t worry, I’ll introduce her to steemit, I just pray she picks my call because I don’t trust her.


RIVERS STATE COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCE
& MANAGEMENT TECHNOLOGY

what3words


I don’t know if you guys have noticed the influx of medical and health professionals from Africa migrating to Europe for a better life. If you also notice, all those people that have boyfriends and girlfriends in overseas, they are also looking for nurses and doctors to marry and bring them over to Europe. Health workers are highly needed there. I’ve decided not to be stingy with this information by sharing it with my fellow steemians, that there is this big school Close to the Research institute that teaches students to be health experts and they give you certificates. The name of the school is the “College of Health Sciences and Management technology in Port-Harcourt” Don’t miss out on this opportunity!! Is a popular school around here and are known for excellence. If you can pass exams in this school condition then you can pass exam anywhere. By the way, for those that find this information useful, don’t forget me when you go to Europe.. 😊


LONDA HOTEL

what3words


You guys will agree with me that, it won’t be fair if I talk about people’s area and not talk about the area’s closest to me. My village people will be angry with me, if they mistakenly see the post. So, I’ve to represent them both offline and online. I bring to you one of the finest and biggest hotel around my area, ”LONDA HOTEL”. The rooms are very comfortable. In fact, this is the best place to chill out especially in this harsh economy we have find ourselves because of its affordability. Even though it’s not as fancy as those 5 stars hotel like presidential hotel, Swiss international hotel, sweet spirit hotel, it’s worth it. They have a very big compound for packing cars, swimming facilities and restaurants is top notch with state of the art gym facilities. Trust me, when you go to the hotel once, you will love to come again with your family and friends.


ST JOHN ANGLICAN CHURCH

what3words


To crown it all up, it’s the biggest and oldest Anglican church around my area “saint John Anglican Church “ at rumueme, opposite market junction, Port Harcourt. This church has seen the likes of many governors, House of Representatives members, senators, commissioners, kings and a lot of dignitaries. If we had a museum now, I think this church would have been one of them.


This are few of the places I could reach within this short time to present in the contest and I encountered some little itch taking clear shots of the premises because of the fog/mist that early hours of the morning, when I stepped out. I also wants to use this opportunity to thank @artist1111 for organizing such great contest. It gave me the opportunity of discovering places like “research institutes”, I never knew existed before.

Cheers!!

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

With a little more effort, your post can be much better, and use smaller topics instead of making them too long.*

 10 months ago 

Thank you sir.. I’ll do more better

The law school is looking just lovely dear fellow. And the research institution of Nigeria is also great looking like a historic place.

 10 months ago 

Thanks… indeed the research institute is a historical place!!😊

You are welcome

 10 months ago (edited)

Don't be shy . Be confident and the school is so nice , beautifully structured and also a very beautiful scene of sunset 🌇.

 10 months ago 

It will take a while before I get use to that!! I’ve always love taking pictures but it depends on the crowd around the area

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44