"Steemit Engagement Challenge | S14W3 | Parent's Strict Behavior and Children's Mental Health".

in Steem4Bloggers7 months ago
AddText_12-12-07.41.06.jpgimage source

Hello friends!!

Week 3 is here, the mental health of everyone matters including children

What are the advantages and disadvantages of parents' strict behavior?

The strict behavior of most times in the eyes of parents may seem right and look like the best for their children, although it may have advantage but they should bear in mind that it may affect the mental health of the child.


Advantages


  • Well-behaved children

Children who grow up with strict parents are most times naturally well-behaved and cultured. This is because strict parents set clear rules and expectations of a child's behavior and these children know what is expected of them.

They grow with the mindset of living up to expectations to avoid consequences that might come up, this way they behave well even in public.

  • Goal-driven

Growing up with strict parents will give a child some sense to be focused in life. Know what you want and go for it. Children from strict homes, usually have high expectations for themselves and this drives them to reach their goals in life.


Disadvantages


  • Difficulty in decision-making

Children from strict homes have the fear of making decisions because they feel their parents are always right in whatever they do hence, making their opinion less important.

Some parents attack their children when they want to speak and these children because of fear, lack what to say for themselves.

  • Increased depression

Childhood anxiety and depression come majorly from strict parenting. When children cannot voice out when they need to, when they are less loved and cared for when their opinion doesn't matter at all, they feel rejected and this adds to them being depressed.

  • Low self esteem

Most children brought up by strict parents turns out to have low self esteem. They don't believe in themselves, and feel unworthy to relate freely with others out there in the society.


What do you feel if you were in the place of such children who have to face strictness?
girl-2529907_1280.jpgsource

Since I know that strictness comes in various forms, I might feel good about the level of strictness my parents give me. Although my parents were strict but with love and passion.

At that time of strict parenting, I felt they never loved me, I felt my parents were not my biological parent, I felt they were not loving, but growing up made me realize that I was loved and being cared for. I understood that strict parenting came in different ways and mine was a good one.

As a child, what do you expect from your parents regarding their behavior?
20231212_192739.pngedited on pixellab app

As a child, I only expected my parents to teach me with love and allow me to share my ideas when I have an idea to share.

I expect love and care from them. They should provide me with my needs, and see me as an important member of the family respective of my gender.

Their behavior should be more loving and encouraging towards me.

What are the negative effects of emotional blackmailing?
  • Physiological Trauma
  • Self-doubt
  • Fear of insecurity
  • Fear of abandonment
  • Empathy
  • Lost of trust

I think some friends needs to join this contest, let me invite them. @ngoenyi @chant @goodybest

Sort:  
Loading...
 7 months ago 

Hola amigo
ser estricto tiene sus grandes ventajas , ya que los niños aprenden hacer mas organizados, a respetar y tener sentido de responsabilidad pero cuando es estricto en demasía y no dejan que elniño ni siquiera de una opinión tiene sus consecuencias una de ella la falta de confianza en sus propios padres

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through Curation Team#2. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.


Curated by : @fombae

Screenshot 2023-12-12 092858.png

 7 months ago 

Thank you fo your support sir

Hello friend
The strictness of parents is really impressive sometimes as it makes them raise and nurture goal driven kids who are focused on achieving the best out of themselves, it also brings forth kids who are well behaved too. It could have a negating effect on kids such as making them have low self esteem, increased depression and extreme difficulty in taking decision which is a major problem most kids face today. I enjoyed your entry my dear friend and success in the challenge

 7 months ago 

Oh am glad you enjoyed my entry. Thank you for your best wishes

 7 months ago 

Hola, me da curiosidad porque mencionas que cuando tus padres te educaban sentías que no te querían porque quizás ellos no dejaban que te expresarte libremente, quizás llegaste a sentir rabia. Pero ahora lo vez como un gesto de amor y que todos lo que ellos hacían era porque querían lo mejor para ti.

 7 months ago 

Why are you curious? You already explained my reason for saying what I said. But let me add to it to make it clearer.

Over here in my country, parents are allowed to flog their child or shout at them. And my parents was no different because they were strict to the point that they flog me severally which made me feel like they didn't love me but now that am grown I understand better their reason for the actions they took.

 7 months ago 

Guao ahora entiendo cada país tiene sus culturas, no sabía que eso era permitido allí y ahora entiendo el porque sentiste desamor de su parte. No quise que entendieras mal mi comentario feliz tarde.

 7 months ago 

Thank you for your support

Strictness is required in every step of life but in the boundaries because of it crosses it then it effects an individual in large. He got mentally disturbed but nice to hear that your parents were strict but with love and passion. Well you have written nice post.

All the best for your future

 7 months ago 

Hi Dear
Greetings to you. Hope you will be fine by the grace of Allah almighty. Nice to hear that you parents were strict with love and passion. I agreed that strictness is necessary but not exceed the limit. Because It is said that excess of everything is bad . When parents are over strict the children afraid of sharing their problems with their parents which can leads to many other serious problems. Best of luck for contest.
Best regards @jannat12

Hola amiga los niños necesitamos que nos crien con amor que nos den confianza y nos enseñen los límites.

 7 months ago 

Hello dear, How was the day ? I wish to all there are in peace and living their best moments of life. Those children are very lucky whose parents behave in a balanced manner because due to strict parents, there is difficulty in communication, depression increases a lot and the ability to think and understand decreases.I enjoyed reading your post.

Wish you good 👍 ... may you always achieve whatever you aim for yourself in life and make the best journey ✨ .
Greetings from me 🌼
Have a beautiful day 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64