From Newbie to Captain: My love affair with Basketball

in Steem4Bloggers3 months ago (edited)
Hey, steemit community,

Today, I want to share an incredible journey that has truly transformed my life, and my passion for basketball. The positive impact of basketball on my life is beautiful.

Everyone knows that physical games make you feel more energetic, fresh, and happy. If you don't play physical games or sports I beg you to start playing because once you start playing you will going to love the change and positive impact of sports on your life and will never get bored of it and never stop regardless of any obstacles.

Early beginings

When I first joined the university I found it boring until I developed my passion for basketball. I never thought that I would be involved in basketball this much. I had no idea what basketball was. One day, out of the blue, the university coach approached me. You're tall; you should play basketball, he said. I replied, honestly I never played this game and I don't even know the rules of basketball. He then smiled and said no worries dear, I'm here for you to coach and I will guide you.

image.png

The first day I took a basketball in my hand.

image.png

Getting Better & Growing Love for Basketball

Finally, the day marked the beginning of my passion. I started playing regularly with a mixed team of boys and girls. The coach was always on the girls' side, hehe. I then started getting better in the game, I played center because of my height. I even bunked classes for games and was always late in the second slot class because I couldn't leave matches in between. H.E.C. the board every year organizes a basketball tournament for boys. I always observe their moves and their fakes and learn. I was on the scoreboard along with my teammate, off course they paid us for this. As nothing is free in this world.

image.png

image.png

Challenges I faced

At first, no team wanted me on their team because they thought I wasn't good enough for their team and they were not wrong as I wasn't a good player but I think if someone is new or doesn't know about the game, that doesn't mean you can demotivate or insults them. Sportsmanship is also a thing, right? then there was a match of girls vs girls and I skipped the lab session for the game, when I asked them to let me in, they didn't let me play they said no if you play you will drag the team down and we will lose, Finally, they won and I was happy for them but also upset of the words they said to me.

Apart from that, I faced even more challenges like late-night matches, and as a girl, it is a big challenge to play late at night but my family supports me, the matches along with studies were never easy. But I managed.

image.png

The Joy of Playing

That moment fueled my determination. I decided to prove them wrong and give my best to the game. It was challenging, but I never gave up on basketball. Now, Three years later, I've already played numerous matches including the leagues outside the university and also within the university, and won many of them.
My coach was instrumental in my growth. He guided me throughout my journey, and he eventually made me the captain of the university girls' team. The previous captain was not happy about the decision of the coach because he saw the dedication and hard work. But the changes were evident, Suddenly everyone wanted to be a part of my team. They saw me winning matches and playing with passion and skill.

image.png

image.png

Building Team

I build my own team of dedicated girls and led us to numerous victories. While we often receive prize money instead of winning trophies, the recognition was worth it. In friendly matches with boys and girls, the opponent often says, "Cover her don't let her shoot". After some time when I got better in the game, new girls also arrived to play basketball. The coach got busy with them, and he then started playing with my opponent so that I could get better. Play with those who are better players then you can make you a better player also.

image.png

Impact of Basketball on my skin

Playing under the sun was never easy it has its challenges. My skin is now two-toned due to excessive sun exposure. But I have no regrets and also it's getting better. The love for basketball will remain the same. I even played on 14th August, Pakistan Independence Day, in a beautifully organized basketball tournament with participants from various colleges, universities, leagues, and individuals. We secured the runner-up position, a moment of immense pride.

image.png

As my final year project approaches, I know I'll be busier. But basketball will remain a part of my life as my passion and will never get bored of it, and continue to make efforts and time for my favorite sports, no matter what.

Thank you for reading about my basketball journey, I hope it will inspire you to chase your passion and love for sports and never give up regardless of challenges and obstacles.


Sort:  
Loading...

Inspiring story! Your passion and dedication to basketball are admirable. You've proven that hard work and perseverance can lead to success. Keep shining and inspiring others to chase their passions.❤️

Thank you so much for your kind words. I appreciate your support. It means a lot to me. Keep shining and pursuing your dreams.❤️

Hi, @fizabatool,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


- Explore Steem using our Steem Blockchain Explorer
- Easily create accounts on Steem using JoinSteem
- Delegate to @ecosynthesizer and wtiness vote @symbionts to support us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64