Contest: Books are man's best friendsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem4Bloggerslast year

Introduction

blonde-1866951__480.jpg
source: pixabay
Man has come a long way to adapt into the styles of the modern world. Back then, for people to read or write, they must first write them on a piece of clothes, on the ground or on larger leaves. As time began to develop, he need to enhance man's access to reading and writing becomes a must do case. Fast forward to today, books are one of the most produced materials in the world today. Almost everyone has a book in his/her house.

Books are what keeps us busy. Almost everything today is related to book. When I say book, I don't mean it must necessarily be your school books. No!! It can be any book at all.

For today's contest, I will try my best on explaining and answering some of the heading questions on books and how important it is to us.


Share the name of the book you like and the author's contact.

I love so many books because I'm always on research for new and Important books. But for today, I'll be talking about one of my best English classic work by Jonathan Swift, Gulliver's travels. This is one of the oldest books that's still relevant till date. The book was first published in 1726 and since then, people as regarded it as a master piece in writing. But unfortunately, in 1745, the author Jonathan Swift passed away.

That's centuries ago right😂 yeah sure!

Brief explanation about the book, Gulliver's Travels.

This book is about the story of Lemuel Gulliver, a voyager who travels to different lands and islands, but this story talks about one of his unfortunate but fortunate voyages to four different lands.

Firstly, he was on the ship with others for their normal sea trip, then later encountered a very strong storm that killed almost everyone on the ship. Gulliver was lucky to be alive but then flushed towards the shores of the Lilliputians, the 6 inches people. He laid unconsciously for some time, before he was later noticed by the the Lilliputians soldiers on duty at the shores of the River.
girl-3528292__480.jpg
source: pixabay

Gulliver was later taken to the main city. It took them days before they could finally arrive the city. The people where first afraid cos' they have never seen a giant person like him before. Gulliver on the other hand was amazed because he has never seen people so so small as the Lilliputians.

He lives with them for some time, won wars for them against other countries of smaller people before he later traveled out of the city to the land of Brobdingnag

When he got to this city, he found out that he was as small as the people of Lilliput he first met. The Brobdingnagians were as tall as he was to the Lilliputians, and his size was like that of a rat. In fact, I can still remember a page in the book that describes the size of their rats like the size of a cow, and a 9 years old baby was using Gulliver her toy, putting him inside her toy house. Omo😂😂😂
glasses-1052010__480.jpg
source: pixabay

He succeeded in running out of the land, were he later moved to Laputa. A land where everyone wants to do science; thinks like a philosopher, but they don't wanna practice it. No much information about his stay in this land as the land didn't interest him.

The last land is the one that surprises me a lot. The land of the Houyhnhnms. A land with super intelligent horses who are in peace with nature. They could talk, understand and do serious logical and critical thinking all by themselves. Their land was the best and the calmest one he went to, though the Lilliput was the one he had lots of fun.

Throughout his travels, he met different people in different lands with situations, but he was keen on learn their ways and understanding how they do things. This book was written centuries ago but till date, remains relevant.


Books are man's best friend. What is your opinion about the quote?

Yeah it's true. This statement is true because every man today has something to do with book. We seek knowledge in books, we get entertained in books. Again, most times when we are lonely, books keeps us busy.

Every man today seek for books in order to develop himself and to gain some good amount of knowledge.

This statement is true and correct because everyone needs books for entertainment, knowledge and love. When we read books, it stimulates our imaginations into doing more things, enhances our creativity, our thinking skills, and makes us learn on how to have emotional support and intelligence in some situations.


What is the importance of reading books to gain knowledge?

First, one of the importance is helping me develop my thinking skills... It makes me think big and also, develop my logical thinking.

Secondly, I learn from my on space. With book, I have been able to gain more informations on their topics, not until I go out to seek for the topics. Books are good.

The third and last, I am someone who lives reading most times. This has helped me in learning about other people's ideas. It has also develop my thinking to be able to flow well with people around me and making it easier for me to understand the world even better. With books, I am able to understand how others perceives something and how I will be able to flow with them.


What did you learn from reading the book?

Well from the book I mentioned above, I learnt a lot. First, Gulliver could crush the world of Lilliput in one day, but he learned to respect them, even with their six inches sizes. In this aspect, I have learned about respecting people no matter what.

He also fought for them, showing appreciation for what they did for him. I could remember his first night, he finished the whole milk in the country in one day. But the Lilliputians didn't complain. He also showed them appreciations by being their hero on the battlefield.

Second, this book talked about a fantasy world, but it explains how to live with different people in the world. Through this, I have learned on how to stay with different type of people in the world. I have practically lived in different parts and states in Nigeria(from the South to the East to the west, and back to the North) I can tell you that most of the time I have a good relationship with these people, my Igbo friends, Yoruba friends, urhobo, Efik, Bendel, Hausa, Ibibio, Angas, just mention them. Forget tribe, ethnicity and religion, if you truly understand what Gulliver did in this book, you'll be able to live with different types of people.


Should I stop reading books?

IMG-20230502-WA0011.jpg
This is me in the class

This is something I will neve do. In fact, as things stands now, I am writing my own novel. I also have a written play, with scripts ready to be shot. So stopping reading is the last on my List at the moment. No way!!


Conclusion

This contest has made me talked about my lovely book, Gulliver's Travels, and I will also recommend this to you all, for those who are yet to read the book. It's a very interesting one and I'm sure you'll love it. Thank you all for reading my post till the very end. Thanks💜💜💜

I'm inviting @lilbiz-yl, @sasanka96, @roshi96 and @emmy7924 to join this contest.

Sort:  
 last year (edited)

Nice write up bro and your travel story is related to "Gulliver's Travel's", thank you for recommending it, I will make sure I read.

 last year 

¡Saludos amigo!😊

El libro que seleccionaste me llevó a viajar en el tiempo porque, lo leí cuando estaba en el colegio y aproximadamente desde esa época no había vuelto a tener acceso a la información que contiene esta referencia bibliográfica.

Hiciste una excelente elección amigo... Es un libro que nos despierta la creatividad.

Un fuerte abrazo💚

 last year 

Very nice book.... I'm happy you have read it too.
Thanks dear

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36