MY SOCIAL MEDIA SIDES|| BY @ahbaz

in Steem4Bloggers2 years ago (edited)

IMG-20221027-WA0062.jpg

10% payout to @hive-109435

Social media is undoubtedly an integral part of human life. They are mediums people use to interact, create content, as well as, exchange information and ideas. These virtual communities form a kind of network for humans. Almost all sectors of life depend solely on these platforms. Though the reasons may differ, one thing stands out which is the need to connect with a targeted audience.

The world of technology has witnessed tremendous growth as social media keeps evolving. Since the early 2000s, digital technology has witnessed the emergence of over 133+ social media platforms. In Nigeria, for instance, the most common platforms with the largest number of users include Facebook, WhatsApp, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Tiktok, Snapchat, Fidle, Telegram and a lot more. A greater number of the users of these platforms are mostly teenagers and youths. This is very understandable since youths below 30 make up about 70% of the Nigerian population.

In the early hours of October 25, 2022, something funny happened which garnered a huge response from users of this particular platform, especially teens and youths. At about 8:07 am, WhatsApp users were unable to send messages, receive messages and carry out some functions on the app. Most people thought it was caused by network, data unavailability and other related factors. It got to a point where some people subscribed for data again. I was also affected. My thought was that WhatsApp was carrying out an upgrade or something. This event stirred up huge restlessness. Thousands of young people on Facebook made posts and comments about what was going on with WhatsApp. The comment section was interactive as fellow netizens shared their experiences and fears. Interacting comforted and calmed those who were overly worried. This proves how powerful social media has become part of life and strongly affecting life.

IMG-20221027-WA0002.jpg

A post made by a Facebook user

On June 5, 2021, there was a similar experience. The Nigerian government banned its citizens from using Twitter due to some misunderstanding. Many people had to sort for other means to remain active. Months later when it was been resolved, these netizens finally heaved out a sigh of relief.

Social media is a huge part of me and my accounts are active on about 9 platforms namely: Facebook, Instagram, Whatsapp, Twitter, Snapchat, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok and Fidle. My top 5 platforms are Whatsapp, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube and Facebook. Do you want to know why? Okay, I'll tell you.

  • Whatsapp
    Whatsapp provides this connection between me and people; friends, acquittance and the like. My favourite Whatsapp features are the voice note feature, stickers, video and audio calls and status. I am sure a lot of people can relate to this. Many people love posting and viewing Whatsapp status, it can be referred to as the most exciting part of Whatsapp. Apart from the normal features, most entrepreneurs and business owners also use Whatsapp to advertise their products via their status and also enjoy important features when using the Whatsapp Business App.

  • Instagram
    I love the Instagram page design. Dark mode, story and reels are some of my favourite features on Instagram. Most lover of music and movies like myself use this platform to connect with the latest trends, artists and the whole entertainment crew.

  • Tiktok
    I love iiiiit. TikTok is the best stress reliever. It has amazing content creators from Nigeria and other countries. Tiktok is always fully packed with educating, inspiring, fun and helpful videos.

  • YouTube
    This is a school and an entertainment ground at the same time. YouTube is one of my favourite apps. Oh I already said that LOL. When looking for a place to find answers to questions aside from Google, the next place is YouTube as it has amazing features which allow people to put up answers and knowledge on the platform in a video concept. I use YouTube to watch videos on many things, learning and having fun in the process.

  • Facebook
    This is the grandfather of them all as more than half the population of Nigeria have a Facebook account. I love the timeline feature, the video feature and above all the free 20MB feature, LOL. Of recent, the reels feature was added making watching videos wider and more fun. I use Facebook for so many things, messaging, posting, buying and selling and other things.

I can say that Nigerians are one of the greatest users of my above 5 social media platforms, we are unbeatable, LOL.

Social media affects my life positively. It makes it possible to connect with people around my locality, those in other states in Nigeria and around the world. Regardless of my love for my social media accounts, I make sure I do not spend time being active when I should be doing other important things, this is one of the things that if not carefully managed can affects my life negatively.

Cc:
@chiabertrand
@simonnwigwe

My entry for the #hive-109435 contest, #simonnwigwe, #chiabertrand

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67241.02
ETH 3727.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77