Expedition

in StockPhotos2 years ago

20220612_124542-picsay.jpg

Rural+ Rugged= Rural Rugged

Some persons are rural but not rugged; while others are rugged but not rural.
In my case, it is both ways: rural with a touch of "ruggedness."

It has been my quest to take on this expedition, but chances never came. Fortunately, ASUU laid bare the hidden and gave me a hand. Though without a backpack or hiking skit, I am happy I did.

Rugged: many times I nearly fell. One other time, I got choked between thorns. The road was neither straight nor near, but I did.

To add to the beauty, I came to a labyrinth of 4 paths leading to unknown destinations, but, unlike the persona in Okigbo's "Idoto," I was not lost. I may have been searching for an acquaintance with nature, but I was not a 'prodigal.'
Trust me, I tested the four paths and shared in their pleasure.

In the 2nd path, I met a hasty river that has fervour in its current. The water was not pure but it was enclosed in serene and innocent environ. Gracious! It blessed me with large tree-roots that I sat on and felt chill.
Still, that's not all. Turning back and right into the 3rd path, I transcended into nature. Nonexistent. Submerged. Felt a strange wing sprouting right from my helpless arms. Here, I saw a still, pure, harmless and narrow river walking. Unhindered. On smooth sands and leaves. The chirping birds, bleating beasts and creaking trees know no sorrow.
At first, I gave them uneasy presence: a stranger. The mother- birds called to their sons and daughters for safety. The fathers came hovering over me in defence. Maybe, to study my instincts, or frighten my movement, or, to defend their manliness. The latter explains why a land squirrel was standing at my back. Unawared. But they too understand the language of friendship. Seeing that I meant no harm, they accepted me into their community and sang melodious tones in welcome of a new member.
It was quite an experience.
I am sorry to say that I killed some insects. They bit and fed on my blood. Left with no other option, I laid hands on them. They died. But they too, though belligerent, were part of the natural forest. Well... At least, I was sorry. At least, I didn't kill the beautiful green caterpillar that magestically crawled to my neck. I blessed the hand that made it. I still do.

I wish I had someone tell me the names of the places I visited: even the rivers and the path. But now I think of it, it is somewhere close to "Egu-apiam." Don't bother tracing that

As you may want to know, the last (4th) path was the way back home. The first led me to the maze; though still a way home, it is more of a route to the artificial high way (main road).

If life was this beautiful in a little dot, how much more when the universe becomes so. Well... I know you'll crucify me for that. Westernisation. Modernisation.
But, you can still be natural by not being anti- nature.

Now that I have told you about nature, in my next expedition, I will tell you about the "supernatural."

20220612_133119-picsay.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45