You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Elephants use a large number of neurons to control their trunk and ears

in Popular STEM2 years ago (edited)

I'm not sure about us having problems with more digits. I remember an experiment some years ago where a person was given a robotic sixth finger. It took him little time to get used to it and eventually when it was taken away the brain missed the extra digit.

I'll look for it.

Sort:  

Here it is:
https://www.ucl.ac.uk/news/2021/may/robotic-third-thumb-use-can-alter-brain-representation-hand

I remember reading even older, tho. Perhaps I'm mixing memories.

 2 years ago 

I'm not sure about us having problems with more digits.

I'll never remember where or when I read that. It was some time ago. But this would suggest that maybe it was wrong, anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48