[Popular STEM|Announcement] Pinned post slots available

in Popular STEM2 years ago (edited)

Hello members of the Popular STEM community!

I wanted to post a short announcement, in case anyone missed it in my post on Saturday.

image.png

Pixabay license from succo at source

As previously announced, here, I have decided to start making use of our community's "pinned" slots in order to provide visibility for up to two promoted posts at a time in our community.

This means that if you use the Steem post promotion feature to promote a post in our community to the top-2 on our promoted page, the post will be eligible to stay on the very first page of our trending page or new posts page for as long as it remains pinned. The post will remain pinned until payout time, or until it gets outranked by another post in the promoted post list. (my own promotion that's currently occupying the top slot does not count as one of the top-2!)

Until further notice, I will be checking the Popular STEM promoted posts daily, and pinning the top-2 posts in the list for as long as they retain their position at the top.

To promote your post (or someone else's), you can send 0.001 or more SBD to @null with the memo field set to "@author/permlink". The higher the amount that gets sent to @null, the higher the post appears in the list.

It's important to note that I'm doing this manually and make no guarantees. Also, I reserve the right to not "pin" a post if it contains plagiarism or otherwise doesn't fit in with our our community's goals. If I happen to miss a promoted post, please feel free to let me know.

In the future, if we get enough interest, I have it in mind to eventually automate the pinning, and possibly to rotate all promoted posts, instead of just the top-2.

Finally, two technical notes:

  • Only posts in Popular STEM are eligible to be pinned here.
  • Transfers to @null are permanent and irreversible. Nobody controls that account and no refunds are possible.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hej. Does it need to be only SBD? Couldn't it be Steem?

 2 years ago 

No, unfortunately, the promoted post feature only works with SBDs. The memo format has to be exactly right, too.

You can look at the wallet of @null for the right format. Basically no characters before the @ sign and just author/permlink after that (permlink is the last field from the URL), all with no whitespace. (I burned a few STEEM on failed promotions before I figured all that out... ;-)

Tried it with my last one, let's see if I did it right :D

 2 years ago 

Yep. That's exactly right. Thank you for being the first person to try it out! I pinned it.

Thank YOU for trying new stuff!

Awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85