You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Popular STEM] Curating the Internet: STEM digest for January 3, 2021

Hi Steve!
I had no idea that the facial recognition detector could be wrong on black or Asian people. this post is completely informative. Definitely interesting, there is a lot to read and a lot to comment on. What an injustice to be arrested for something you did not commit and for a computer error.

I remember that when I was doing physical education in high school, I got dizzy, they evaluated our resistance and always made me want to vomit.

I had no idea what happened to our body!

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Thanks for the reply! I'm glad you thought these summaries were interesting.

I already know that facial recognition had trouble with black people sometimes, but just like you, this is the first time I've read that it also has more errors for Asian faces. I guess the only up-side from that story is that he wasn't in jail for a terribly long time. Sometimes I have read about people who spent years or decades in jail after wrongful convictions. That's just unimaginable, so I'm glad it was only 10 days for this guy.

I totally agree with @remlaps it was 10 days, it is an injustice but the world is full of them. innocent people die in prison.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42