You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AI: To pause or not to pause

Personally I think there's some risk, but it's kind of unquantifiable. There's also some risk every time someone has a baby that it will grow up to be an evil psychopath that gains access to nuclear weapons. Maybe I'm not sufficiently worried about AI, but arguments from anxiety about the unknown seem a little dubious to me. And what's the evidence that "more time" would result in AI-alignment-concerned people doing anything more useful than the idle speculating they've been doing?

The other day I listened to this podcast about AI stuff. I thought the guest had some unusual perspectives, but since most of the commentary about AI stuff seems more doomer-centric I thought his POV was interesting. For example, he says we already give algorithms a lot of control over our lives (e.g. laws), so AIs running things would be a continuation of stuff we already do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51