You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Popular STEM] Curating the Internet: STEM digest for April 11, 2021

in Popular STEM3 years ago

I have a question ⁉️

Why we can't use the cells of any other organisms. Why xenobots can only be produced by frog cells.
This development system is whole based on single individual cell capacity to survive.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

That is a very good question, and to be honest, I don't know. My guess would be that they could use other organisms, but maybe it's easier with the frog cells because tadpoles have the natural ability to regenerate the cells in their tails. That's just a guess, though.

Hmm..it may be.. but my point of view is that stem cells taken from any organism from embryo have the natural ability to differentiate and regenerate.
May be this Research have done yet only in frog...and in future years will be further researched on other organisms like rats.

(Well, this is just a clue, I need to study on this topic)

Thanks for giving time to this comment 😊

 3 years ago 

my point of view is that stem cells taken from any organism from embryo have the natural ability to differentiate and regenerate.

Yes, I agree with you on this point. It may be that they started with frog cells as a matter of convenience, because their previous research had involved studying regeneration of tadpole tails. But Levin is pretty clear in the interviews that I included in last week's post that he thinks cells from all animals have similar capabilities.

Al right, I will go through your posts... I am finding your post informative and up to the mark...good wishes for you🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43