Light Painter Introduction - DAWN - Interview Series #05



Interview .JPG

The lightpainting community is small and spread all over the world. A close association, which is perceived far too little in the world of photography. We want to change this. In order to bring you some artists closer, we asked some active artists to introduce themselves and to answer a few questions about light painting and their relation to it. To introduce you first to who is involved in the "Lightpainters United" project, we start our interview series with our curators.

- DAWN -

1. Please introduce yourself shortly. Name, Age and where you from etc.

Hi. My name is Olivier, I'm 42, born and raised mostly in Paris from West Indies family. Did a lot of sports until 34.

2. How and why did you start Light Painting?

I wanted to do graffiti again and I decided to take part to a workshop. I met Marko93 there and I saw video LP. I was curious. I decided to meet him again and I saw "classic" LP. I was amazed!!! Decided to go for it.

3. How long have you been lightpainting?

I discovered it in 2011 but really started in 2013.

4. What means Light Painting for you? What is yor motivation? What drives you?

LP is the best way I found to express myself until now. It's at the crossing of a lot of influences of mine. As you do 100% of the job during the exposure you can do whatever you want, o ly your imagination can restrain you. It's a way to feel free from everything and only focus on the present moment.

5. What gear do you always carry with you?

My Canon FS body, my Canon 16-35mm lens, filters, IR remote, 2 batteries, any suitable tripod, my Nicore P12 flashlight with cones, a bigger flashlight with a Lee filters set. That's my minimal set.

6. What was your most memorable Lightpainting expirience, event or moment?

I guess it's the "Funky Cops" story : first time I visited Pala Terh in Belgium, he invited 80 persons for the session. Almost everyone came and it was really messy : smoke, fireworks... Neighbors called the police but we didn't realize until they reach our level and shouted "FREEZE!" The first three cops were young, blond and attractive ladies. As we immediately explained why we were here they put back guns in holsters. As I had pot I stayed in the back to seek for a snatch for my pouch while the others were putting hands on the wall. I decided to send it through the window and I joined the pack. Cops only told us to leave, we were afraid because we dismantled a radical Muslim terrorist crew in that specific town just two weeks ago. As we were prepared I told my host for the week, We decided to go back into the abandoned fort and sneak to the room we were before. The pouch was blocked on the window'edge, 5 meter shigh so my buddy has to help me as I climbed on his shoulders. The weed had a taste of victory after that.^^

6. Who or what inspires you?

Everything, everywhere, Everytime but there's a lot of things I don't try for now.

7. What is going to be the next Light Painting Tool you build or buy?

I won't buy anything. I'll try to work on my sabers to make them really stiff and add options. Now I'm working on my most precious took : my body. Being healthy will be the key to keep on and go further.

8. What is your workflow?

I don't have any, I try to avoid habits.

9. Do you have 3 Lightpainters you would like to have a colaboration with?

*Tim Gamble, Hannu Huhtamo, Janne Parvianen *

10. What are your best or most favourite 3 pictures?

Hypnotic.jpg
Titel: „Hypnotic“

Callicubism.jpg
Titel: „Callicubism“

Another Moonlight.jpg
Titel: „Moonlight“

11. What is your favorite environment to shoot in?

Nature (Yes, it can be surprising guys!)

12. What are your favorite type of light paintings to create and why?

I'm a dick at drawing and very bad at story telling so I chose abstract light calligraphy-ish and kinetic Lightpainting.

13. What is your favorite part about the Light Painting Art Form?

Stopping time!


Thanks for taking the time for the interview and the inspiration mate.


You would like to see more lightpainting created by talented artists?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34