Venezuelan elections

in Venezolanos Steem2 months ago

Well elections were held in Venezuela today and we still have no idea who won. I have been following on X and both sides, well both sides that have a chance of winning are claiming victory. Now as far as I know there are no exit polls in this election so both sides were lying when they posted made up numbers. Now it seems the counting has stopped. I am from Honduras, we had an election seven years ago when the counting stopped and when it restarted the incumbent who was down by over 5%, somehow was able to find enough votes in the rural area to revert the numbers and come out the winner.

Personally I think the way elections have evolved have turned them into a sham, remember something, both sides (usually only two parties have a chance) are into all sorts of shenanigans to win by any means, vote buying, not letting people vote, closing booths before time is up or even stealing electoral boxes with ballots. I guess this will happen in Venezuela, and whoever loses will say there was fraud, and he will be right because both sides commit fraud. And then this leaves a very polarized country, in Venezuela's case it could be catastrophic because that is one country that is really divided.

Of course, when you see the counting stopped I can really bet that the incumbent party is doing something, that is just the way things are. They have the money and the power so are more likely to be able to manipulate things, I really hope the winner is the one who actually got more votes and tomorrow Venezuela will awake to a fine peaceful day.

Personally I do not want Maduro to win, change is the way even if it means a political creed I do not agree much with, but what the heck if you don't try it you can't know. And personally I think four years is too much time in power. Maduro already has 12 years and is looking for another six, no I don't agree with that. I must say though, the alternative is not so tempting, this guy is 74 years old, I really don't trust people of that age in a position with so much pressure. I am going on 63 and I am sure I would not be able to hold that position so why would someone over a decade older be able to? I guess he will just be like a caretaker.

Anyway whatever the outcome I wish the best to the people of Venezuela.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.89
ETH 2421.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44