Praying In Humility

in HeartChurch3 years ago

image.png

You know it's funny that in everything one needs to be humble.
Most times we feel too proud of our position, our status, our name, or whatever achievements we have gotten in life forgetting all those things weren't I'm by our making or through our power.

Speaking of prayers for the past two days.
Today I wanna talk about Humility and Prayer.

KJV: If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

AMP: If My people, who are called by My name, shall humble themselves, pray, seek, crave, and require of necessity My face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven, forgive their sin, and heal their land. (2 Chronicles 7:14)

The book of 2 Chronicles 7:14 speaks of humility and prayers.
And this got me thinking, does it mean that even when praying and even in the place of prayers that humility is a major factor?
We are required to be humble while we pray?
When God spoke to Solomon, why didn't he only say, if my people pray? But said that if they shall humble themselves and pray, He the Lord shall hear them?

It means that they should pray in humility and not only that but they should seek his face and turn from their wicked ways.
And by that, it, therefore, means that sometimes we pray to God with pride or no iota of humility.
It means that there is humility in the place of prayer and that we should always be humble whenever we go before the Lord.

This also made me remember a situation that happened in my church on Sunday while we were praying.
I remember one of the men of God praying and suddenly while he was concluding the prayers, he mentioned something that I felt was kind of an insult to God, my mind was that alert enough to pick it, but immediately also, he apologized by saying that it is not that he was commanding God but that he was only pleading.

Some may not have even realized this or take note of it but I did and don't know why it happened that way because I often hear people praying and great men of God praying.
It's not the first time they pray in that manner but that day it came differently and it hit differently that I was even surprised for taking note of such.

And today, while reading, I bumped into that verse of the scripture that God spoke to Solomon about the people of Israel.
He said if they humble themselves and pray.



Now I will throw this question to us. How do we know if we are praying in humility or not?
When the children of Israel were filled with pride and they didn't reference the God that brought them out of the Land of Egypt, what did God do to them?

Another question to us is this, How often do we nag, complain and make a fuss about our lives that we even fail to see the things God is doing for us or has done for us?

All this has a way of making us not to be humble and pray to God
Even when things go wrong in our lives, we should humble ourselves and pray to God.
He knows it and he sees it all, he just wants us to humble ourselves and pray to him.
He wants us to come to him in humility, seeking His face, turning away from our evil ways and acts and then asking of him before he grants to us those things we desire.

I want to urge us today to stop making a fuss about our situations and circumstances but rather humble ourselves and go to God in prayers, seek his face and let him heal us from all our worries and troubles.

Stay Faithful!
Remain Blessed!

Shalom!

Image

@zellypearl

Sort:  

If we humble ourselves and pray to God he will surely hear us and grant our heart desires. Thanks for sharing @zellypearl.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58027.38
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38