God forbid

in HeartChurch4 years ago

images (8).jpeg
Source

The more I know your power, lord
The more I'm mindful
How casually we speak and sing your name
How often we have come to you
With no fear or wonder
And called upon you only for what we stand to gain

God forbid, that I find you so familiar
That I think of you as less than who you are
God forbid, that I should speak of you at all
Without a humble reverence in my heart
God forbid

Lord, I often talk about your love and mercy
How it seems to me your goodness has no end
It frightens me to think that I could take you for granted
Though you're closer than a brother
You're more than just a friend

  • Lyrics of a song by Point of Grace

images (7).jpeg
Source

I was chatting with a friend today and used the phrase We thank the Lord
A phrase I use all the time. And it occurred to me that this phrase had become a lifeless mantra. It had become an empty sound I mindlessly repeated
Like the acronym LOL which people type with a straight face. (I'm very guilty of this)

And immediately I had a serious check in my spirit and godly sorrow descended on my heart.
This song came to me immediately and I played it repeatedly while repenting in my heart.

I don't ever want to take God for granted in my life
I don't ever want to mention His name without reverence and awe of who He is
I dont ever want to think of MY GOD as just another passing thought that flickers and then floats away with the wind.

I want to stand in awe of his Majesty
Whisper His name with deep reverance
Call out His name in fear and trembling
Think of Him
And fall flat on my face

Melt at the sound of His voice
Weep for the suffering he bore for me
Love Him with every breath I take in
Speak of Him every time
Like a lover would her love

Find an excuse to say His name
In every conversation because I am overwhelmed by His love.

May I NEVER take you for granted Lord. God forbid
Amen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65189.35
ETH 3155.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60