Steemit Crypto Academy | Season 2 - Week 3 | Home Work Post for @yohan2on -> A new crypto portfolio

Investing in cryptocurrencies is one of the most entertaining things you can do. It is like an emotional rollercoaster, but using wisdom and the good advices of Professor @yohan2on, you can save yourself from much stress and exhaustion. In this homework, I have done my best to build a wise new portfolio consisting of six different cryptocurrencies. The initial investment was supposed to be $50, but I decided to use $60 instead, meaning that I would invest $10 per currency that I decided to include in my portfolio.

Constructing my cryptoportfolio

To make it easier, I decided to buy all my cryptos on Binance. Since I have a SafePal hardware wallet, it is easy to store all those currencies on my SafePal, and I can even trade directly with portfolio using my hardware wallet. However, I am a big fan of staking and earning an interest, so far that reason, it is actually better to store the cryptos on Binance, because there you can use the investment opportunities to receive an interest on the tokens held in the wallet.

The six cryptocurrencies I decided to include in my portfolio

For this investment, I decided not to care much about technical analysis, but instead, I looked at the fundemental of the projects at hand. Since I want this to be a long-term investment, the fundamental is way more important than exactly the status of a technical analysis at the moment.

portfolio.jpg
My crypto portfolio on April 27th after investing in six different cryptocurrencies.

Ethereum

Ethereum is a giant in the cryptoworld, and I believe it will grow bigger and bigger, and more and more important. The implementation of the Proof of Stake protocol which is expected later this year, will also lower gas fees, thus making Ethereum even easier and better to use. As a short-term investment, I believe Ethereum will experience a price increase as we approach Ethereum 2, and as a long-term, I believe it is even safer.

I bought 0.004 Ethereum on April 27th.

Steem

I love blogging and I love writing, and I love reading. In other words, Steem is the perfect platform for me. The fact that you are rewarded for doing what you love is awesome, and one of the best ways to enjoy the platform is by investing in it. After all, if you believe in it, what is more natural than investing the tokens? For this testing purpose, I keep them on Binance, but long-term, the best place to keep Steem is on Steemit!

I bought 12 Steem tokens on April 27th.

Vechain (VET)

This is one of my favorite cryptoprojects overall. It has great leadership, it is backed by the Vechain foundation, and it has giant partners worldwide. In other words, this is a project with fantastic partners, a great use-case, and you are rewarded for holding VET tokens by the monthly distribution of VTHO tokens (the token used to pay for gas on the blockchain).

I bought 55 VET tokens on April 27th.

Hedera Hashgraph (HBAR)

This is an interesting project. It isn't a typical blockchain project, and some people call it a futuristic version that is better and a more improved version of the blockchain industry. I don't understand it entirely, but I don't want to miss out on this. They also have some great partners, and who knows, maybe this will be a big part in the future? Anyway, this might be a risky project, but I see a bigger upside than downside with this investment!

I bought 35 HBAR tokens on April 27th.

Polkadot (DOT)

Polkadot has been created by several people with background by Ethereum. It is very similar to Ethereum, just with improved technology in many ways. It is very popular and there are already lots of tokens running on the Polkadot blockchain. I believe this might turn just as big as Ethereum in the future, so holding Polkadot tokens might be worth a lot if you hold it for years.

polkadot.jpg

I bought 0.3 DOT tokens on April 27th.

USDT

This isn't really investing, but I believe holding USDT or any other stablecoin is vital to any portfolio. It is the key in case of sudden price drops, because it gives you a position in which you can buy more tokens if needed. So, this is a really boring investment, but it is vital to any portfolio, the way I see it. Once again, it doesn't necessarily remain in my portfolio, because maybe I will discover some other crypto that I want to buy later, or maybe I want to buy more of one of the already existing tokens later. But, it is a way of keeping some funds ready, in case I want to buy more of something else in the future.

I bought 10 USDT tokens on April 27th.

Keeping track of my investment

I am using Blockfolio on my phone to keep track of my portfolio. I can also use SafePal as my hardware wallet shows me a total overview of my investment, but here my screenshots are from Portfolio.

Here you can see a screenshot showing the value of my portfolio two days after my initial investment.

Screenshot_20210429-105006.png

The results of my investment.

To be honest, the last two days have been very steady without big movements. As a result, nothing has really happened, besides a few Dollars movement upwards and downwars.

  • At the time of the investment, my entire portfolio was worth $59.88.
  • 48 hours later, the worth of my portfolio was $62.77

If you compare the start with the final, you can see that there has been minimal change.

TokenNumber of tokensValue July 27thValue July 29thDifference in %
Ethereum0,00401$9.97$10.91+9,5%
Steem12$10.27$10.260%
Vechain55$10.05$10.68+6,2%
Hedera Hashgraph35$9.83$10.14+3,1%
Polkadot0.3$9.75$10.14+3,3%
USDT10$10.02$10.010%

TOTAL RESULT OF INVESTMENT: +$2,66 (which is approximately 4%).

To be honest, comparing this to a normal bank makes it a wonderful investment, in two days only. But, in the same way, I can be in a negative interest in a few hours if the market turns red.

The task here has been fantastic for creating a portfolio and it will be interesting to see how this portfolio will progress in the coming days and weeks and months. It has also been useful for learning how to calculate loss and win in percentage (something I had to look up because I didn't remember how it was done).

Thank you @yohan2on for yet another fantastic lesson, and it has been a joy to study and to learn together with you!

Sort:  

Hello @unbiasedwriter,
Thank you for participating in the 3rd Week Crypto Course in its second season and for your efforts to complete the suggested tasks, you deserve a 10/10 rating, according to the following scale:

OriginalityCompliance with topicConsistency of methodQuality of analysisClarity of structure & language
(2/2)
(2/2)
(2/2)
(2/2)
(2/2)

My review :

An article with excellent content in which you presented your choices well and convincingly, despite the weak profit due to the short period of time and the stagnation of the market, it remains a successful experience that everyone benefited from it.

Thanks again for your effort, and we look forward to reading your next work.
Sincerely,@kouba01

Thanks a lot for your feedback and for the fantastic mark! I am really grateful :) And if the market keeps green like today, the portfolio value will grow rapidly!! :)

I hope so! Have a good day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77