Phishing Link, a Security problems with Cryptocurrency|| @gbenga Week 5 assignment

in SteemitCryptoAcademy4 years ago (edited)

Security is the biggest priority for tech companies and the use of technology in general. In case you did not know, Security with concern to the internet, blockchain, or cryptocurrency (cybersecurity) is a subject of both national and personal concern. When it comes to data, everything is at risk, and do not forget that the blockchain is a decentralized distributed ledger of data stored in blocks and verified by nodes that they are correct, making them immutable. So, your phone data needs security, your cryptocurrency wallet needs security, and so on.

Cryptocurrency is not left out, and it has been a major security issue because asides from getting access to data if breached, billions can be lost in the process. Just like you are always careful that your bank account security isn't breached, so will you be scared of a bridge in the security with cryptocurrency. I should be able to share a personal experience of being a victim of security problems with cryptocurrency as I go along with this post.


source

Phishing Link

To be sincere, I haven't met anyone who has been a victim of a phishing link and was happy to be a victim. Phishing links are always a pain in the butt for anyone who has ever been involved as a victim, so many have lost money, some lost lives and lives of loved ones, and so on. So what is a phishing link?

A link that leads to a malicious page giving access to the victim's data/information. Phishing links are often sent by hackers who aim to get information about a person, account, details, Login details, and private keys, and install malicious malware into devices. When a person is a victim of Malicious phishing links in the world of cryptocurrency, it can be easy to get access to the account victim by just allowing the victim to fill in all their details. Most times the victims do fall prey to phishing links as a result of curiosity, greed, and most times out of ignorance.

I am very conversant with phishing links to get the victim's data. This type of link is sent to the victim via mails, text, comments on social media handles, or through ads. The victim sees the link and clicks on it after which they get redirected to another page where the data/information of the person is requested for. For cryptocurrency, the messages are often enticing, and in most cases an airdrop.

My Personal Experience

Although I didn't fall victim, I saw how a phishing link looked like. A mail was sent to my email address from a fake Blockchain email address. The mail had enticing airdrops worth about $10,000. After reading through, I was told to follow the link in the mail.


source

I didn't fall, victim, because I saw the email address was fake, the logo wasn't properly designed and the rewards looked too good. I clicked on the link on a spare device with antivirus and several antimalware software. When I opened the link, I saw a form where I was requested to submit my Ethereum private key and other types of incentives.

After clicking a phishing link the victim's account becomes vulnerable, data and other important information can be lost. The best way to prevent phishing link is to avoid clicking on unfamiliar links from unfamiliar addresses.

Sort:  

Phishing link has caused a lot of damage in the cryptocurrency industry especially with wallets. Anyone can be targeted, either individuals or corporations. This leads to a loss of assets and control of wallets in most cases.

There have been several periods when Phishing have been sent to me but I so not click on them. What would you advice I do if I click on a phishing link?

Rating 7

I will advice that you quickly change your password in a case like this.

I will advice that
You quickly change your password
In a case like this.

                 - papa-mensa


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79