Homework-Task part 2 by @sapwood How do I download & install a walletsteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemitCryptoAcademy4 years ago

Special thanks to @steemitblog for coming up with such an initiative to educate steemit users on crypto and blockchain-related topics I will be completing my home homework task from @sapwood class where important issues on wallet and password were covered on how we can choose and secure our wallet with different types of keys and password.

How do I download & install a wallet?

Screenshot_20210216-225618.png

source
Trust wallet has been one of my favorite crypto wallets although I use another alternative crypto wallet I will using trust wallet for my post.
First before having any installed wallet one need to make some necessary basic research on which wallet he/she considers to be good for instance before I started using trust wallet I made some reviews about the wallet and consider users rating and comment about the wallet after making my research I was satisfied with the reviews.

Secondly base user's mobile device either Android or iOS from google play store or app store I will search for trust wallet application.

Screenshot_20210216-221429.png

Next on getting the wallet from the play store, I will proceed to download on successful download next step is to install the application which is done automatically on successful download.

With the above few steps, I've completed a successful download of the trust wallet application.

Next will be generating my key/Mnemonic which needs to be written in a separate handbook or backup in any external hard drive after successfully rewriting my key/Mnemonic which was 12 phrase key and setting up my passcode will be in full custody of my trust wallet.

How do I restore a wallet using a Private key/Mnemonic key/Keystore file?

images (4).png

Since trust wallets used key/Mnemonic phrase keys it's important for any user using trust wallets to make sure their phrase keys are well written in any external handbook or stored in a backup device.
if all keys are stored when any user loses his phone or format his device it can be easy for one to completely recover his wallet by simply downloading the trust wallet and click on import wallet which means I would want to restore my old wallet.
An option to input key/Mnemonic will be available once successful input user old wallet will be completely restored.

Note if the user loses his key/Mnemonic it can be quite impossible to recover the account.

How important is the Mnemonic key or Private Key or Keystore File during the installation/restoration of a wallet? How do you store/secure your keys?

key/Mnemonic is very important as without these keys it will very impossible to recover wallet account since the introduction of decentralized blockchain there is much need for users to have complete custody of their wallets which means with one key/Mnemonic you are the sole owner of your wallet.

In general, keys are very important as they contain all information about one's wallet which means if lost it can be hard to recover the wallet.

How do you store/secure your keys?

Since most wallet doesn't allow direct screenshots of keys especially Mnemonic keys I write out all my Mnemonic in a separate handwriting book which is making sure I keep very safe out of reach.

Any Blockchain wallet you have used before, having the experience of any/all the three forms of keys-- Private/Mnemonic/Keystore file?

I've used trust wallet for several months it uses Mnemonic phrase keys and I can say it's an easy experience and very much convenient using these keys as I've not had any difficulty accessing my wallet using Mnemonic keys.

All information is base on my experience using trust wallet app.

#sapwood #cryptoacademy #blockchain #crypto #wallet

thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

First off, thank you so much for expressing interest in this homework task and crypto academy.

As you have used Trust Wallet, you are quite familiar with the Mnemonic key and the safest way is to write down the keys on a piece of paper.

Secondly do remember that in the future if you ever come across a Keystore file, then you also have to take care of the password(set by you), either you need to memorize it or you can also write it down on a piece of paper. Otherwise, you won't be able to restore your wallet. If it is a case of the Private Key/Mnemonic Key then you don't need a password to restore it.

Since most wallet doesn't allow direct screenshots of keys especially Mnemonic keys I write out all my Mnemonic in a separate handwriting book which is making sure I keep very safe out of reach.

Even if they allow you should not take screenshots of your keys.

I've used trust wallet for several months it uses Mnemonic phrase keys and I can say it's an easy experience and very much convenient using these keys as I've not had any difficulty accessing my wallet using Mnemonic keys.

You are right. Mnemonic keys/phrases are easy to handle, but the correct sequence of words can only unlock your fund.

Thank you.

 4 years ago 

Thanks much for tbe the feedback will take note of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71