Steemit Crypto Academy Contest / S11W5 -: Steem blockchain age || 25% to null


Assalamualaikum steemians


How are you? Hope so everyone would be safe and sound just like me as I am also safe Alhamdulillah.


I am very happy to take part in this engagement challenge which is all about the age of steem blockchain which is a new topic for me but I would try my best to answer all questions.

|IMG_20230825_195128.jpg


What is the Genesis blockchain? Explain its meaning. Show screenshot of the Genesis block of the Steem blockchain


Blockchain have different blocks like latest blog head block or Genesis block so here if I define Genesis block then any initial block in a blockchain network is called Genesis block (Genesis is also a word similar to generate and this is I have just given you guys a hint so that you may remember about Genesis block). Foundation and parameters of entire blockchain is set by Genesis block that's why it have a great importance at any blockchain. We can also say that Genesis block is birth of blockchain (it could be said in lame language to make it easier to understand to everyone)

Things that could be determined by steem Blockchain

Characteristics and rules of the blockchain are also determined by Genesis block because this type of significant information we can see from Genesis block and Genesis block could give us some important details like times stamp of block creation as well as block hash and initial distribution of tokens if it is applicable.

If I give an example of Genesis block of steem blockchain then it is important to note that Bing Bing of this network or blockchain and specific information which is significant and relevant to operation of steem blockchain can be determined by Genesis block. It seems to be very fascinating when we think to see that how block lay the groundwork of decentralised blockchain technology.

Method to check Genesis block at steem blockchain

  • The most authentic site and most easy to use and most original is @steemworld.com and to check Genesis block again we have to open this site and then we have to login to our account.
IMG_20230825_195200.jpg
  • After that the first page when opening this site that we will see would be like this and from this page we will open block explorer as I have also highlighted in the screenshot.
  • When you click on block explorer then on the very next page they will ask you the block number that you want to see so as we are here for checking Genesis block and it is the most initial block thats why we have to command it to give us information about block number one so inbox we will put one and then click on ok.
IMG_20230825_195227.jpg
  • After that we will be able to see different information about Genesis block time stamp , block id as well as witness signature and anything but you want to see is given in screenshot below.
IMG_20230825_195250.jpg

That was all about information that what is Genesis block at this blockchain and what things can be determined by Genesis block as well as detailed method to check Genesis block from@steemworld.com


What is the last block produced? Determine the total time of the Steem blockchain, used the production date of the Genesis block and the production date of the last block


Method 1

You can see below a screenshot which I take from @steemyy.com.77527521 is the latest head block of the time when I open this site and captured screenshot. This latest head block when produced then times stamp was 2023-08-24: 05:44:39. Now the method is simple and I have to multiply latest block with 3rd digit. The reason to multiplying with three is that one block forms in 3 seconds that's why we will multiply this latest head block with 3 seconds so let's move towards procedure.

IMG_20230825_195315.jpg

Calculations

Latest head block = 77527521

• 1 block produce in 3 seconds so here is a time to multiply 77527521 with 3.

77527521 into 3 = 232,582,563

Now we convert 232,582,563 into minutes so we have to divide it with 60 second as I minute = 60 second

232,582,563 ÷ 60 = 3,876, 376.05

Now we have to convert 3,876, 376.05 into hours so again divide it with 60 minutes

3,876, 376.05 ÷ 60 minutes= 64,606. 2675 hours

IMG_20230825_195339.jpg

Now we have to convert 64,606. 2675 hours into days and we all know that 1 day contains 24 hours that's why we have to divide 64,606. 2675 hours to 24

64,606. 2675 hours ÷ 24 hours = 2,691.9278125 days

For converting 2,691.9278125 days into years we should know that there are 365 days in a year so we have to divide ➗2,691.9278125 days to 365 days

2,691.9278125 days ÷ 365 days = 7.375 years which on round off are approximately 7.42 years

Method 2

This is a second method that I am going to share with all of you and this method is simple and it is about subtraction and we can see from the data that is available that we have time stamp of both Genesis block as well as latest head block so here I am going to share and important method with you in which we use spreadsheet but first let me explain that what the method is.

Here we have to determine age of blockchain. Let me write all values available which would be used in second method of calculation.

Time stamp of Genesis block = 2016/03/24 16:05:00

Time stamp of latest block = 2023-08-24: 05:44:39

For calculating age of blockchain by this method we have to subtract both of them and for this we have to subtract time stamp of latest block from Genesis block time stamp. Expression for calculation would be like this;

Age of steem blockchain= Time stamp of latest Blockchain -Time stamp of Genesis Blockchain

So;

2023-08-24: 05:44:39 - 2016/03/24 16:05:00

It would be difficult and would be a very lengthy procedure so when you command in spreadsheet then it becomes very easy to calculate the age so I am using spreadsheet as I have also shown in screenshot and then we talk about age then it means we have to calculate years will have to calculate months and then we have to calculate days.

IMG_20230825_072900.jpg

Below are the list of formulas that we can use for calculating age of steem blockchain in years in months or in days in which we want.

Year calculation formula=DATEDIF(A5,B5,"y")

Month calculations formula=DATEDIF(A5,B5,"ym")

Days calculations formula=B5-(DATE(YEAR(B5),MONTH(B5),1))

  • From calculations we can see that age of blockchain is 7 years approximately 4 months and 2 days.

Explain the downtime of a blockchain - why can it occur?


When we talk about down time of a blockchain then it can be defined as a period in which blockchain is not working or there is any malfunctioning or interruption in its normal functioning. During down time there are many activities and transactions that may be delayed or their process maybe hindered as well as if we talk about reasons due to which downtime may occur in a blockchain are several that I am also going to share very soon.

Network congestion

If the network is congested then it is the most important and most common reason of downtime of a blockchain because of high transaction volumes and activities that happens day by day at blockchain and as a result of all these activities and high volume of transaction blockchain may face strain to process all these activities with more efficiency.

Due to this congestion we can see a great delay in transaction confirmation and it could be due to some temporary for and blockchain sometimes have typical mechanism like transaction fees, aur different algorithms to manage congestion. Sometimes sheer volume of network also overwhelm and results in down time of blockchain.

Software vulnerability

Down time can be due to software vulnerability and bugs. In blockchain network there are some complex software codes for the functioning of blockchain and these issues and these software have different security vulnerability and these issues may leads to unexpected crashes in blockchain that results in downtime.

Developers of blockchain work on it to identify and fix these bugs and helps in releasing different software updates which enhance network stability but these vulnerability temporary down time not permanent down time.

External factors effect

There could be some external factors that can lead a blockchain towards down time. If I give an example then I want to say that the blockchain networks that rely upon external sources and oracles so anytime if this sources have any destruction or failure then it may impact the Network operations as well as if a blockchain network depend upon hardware then any failure in that hardware may lead to down time. Sometimes these external disturbance is can cause disruption in blockchain and can lead to down time.

Maintenance activity

In any technology there are the requirements of updates so in the same way blockchain network also require regular update and different enhancements so in these periods sometimes network need to be offline for a temporary time for putting blockchain in a maintenance mode to perform activities so down time may also occur in maintainence activities.

Attacks or security breaches

Down time in a blockchain can also because due to a reason of different attacks or security breeches but we all know that blockchain is always designed to be secure and it is not immune 2 attackers but still there are different articles that attempt to exploit vulnerability in the blockchain that leads to compromises or different descriptions in operations and as a result of these attacks blockchain also try to combat with situation by following different emergency measures.


Has the Steem blockchain experienced downtime? If it has presented downtime, explain, mentioning the cases


STEEM blockchain is very secure and follows different preventions to avoid any kind of downtime situation and this blockchain is also giving continuous update to avoid such situations but if we talk about downtime situation in the past at this blockchain then yes it's true that change have also face a situation of downtime in past.

IMG_20230825_195347.jpg

Here is the screenshot by which we can see that total down time period that steem blockchain face was about 16.63 days. If I talk about a situation and a scenario that this blockchain face regarding down time then in 2017 there was a very famous situation about DDoS

IMG_20230825_195426.jpg

There are attackers that attack on this blockchain due to steemit future projections. More about this down time attack you can see in the screenshot.

IMG_20230825_195408.jpg

Some months ago I was also facing down time like situation because I was feeling very difficulty in many of the transactions as well as images were also not showing at the platform and this was the first situation with me from the time when I start working here so I talk about it with a experience friend you can see discussion in screenshot.

That was all about my discussion about this topic hopefully everyone would understand everything very well.

I want to give an invitation to @wilmer1988 , @nahela , @josepha , @malikusman1 to participate 😀


Thanks ❣️


Sort:  
Loading...

Oohh WOW there is the method of calculating the exact age of the Steem Blockchain I think that is the calculations about you were discussing in the comments on my post. Yes now I have understand that thing 😄. Your publication is truly very impressive and well presented. You have explained each part of the publication very nicely. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge with us.
Blessings 💞 and praying for your success 🤲

I am happy to see your comment on my post and I would try to continue my journey to share my knowledge with all of you and I am happy that you like my way of calculation of the exact date of this blockchain and yes I calculate age by easy method so that everyone may understand and now I am happy that I made good efforts because you understand the method*

Thanks for giving such a kind words to my publication and to say that it is impressive and to learn each and every part of my publication in a nice way thanks for this comment and I also wish all of blessings and prayers for your success good luck to you in your entry

You are always welcome brother 😊. We will really appreciate your future efforts and hard work on this wonderful platform. Keep growing hard 💪
Best wishes 🍀🤞

Buen contenido amigo, definiendo claramente la fecha de nacimiento de Génesis y la edad de la blockchain aunque hay una pequeña discrepancia con la imagen de la hoja de cálculo, entiendo que es un error de tipeo.

Coincido con el tiempo de inactividad y comparto la mayoría de sus causas expuestas.

Saludos, éxitos y buena suerte.

Thank you so much for giving your precious time to my post I am very happy to see your comment here and I am happy that you like my content as well as you clearly understand the concept that I explain about Genesis block that it can be defined as date of birth of a block at blockchain in simple words


Yes it's a typing error which you are talking about friendship but the method is very easy to calculate age of the blockchain by using spreadsheet because if we don't use spreadsheet then it takes a lot of time and it becomes a lengthy method which everyone would not understand that's why I used spreadsheet method

I am happy that you understand about down time and its causes that why it can happen as well as overall you like my entry and soon I will also like to visit your post

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere with any tags.
Curated by : @sduttaskitchen

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

Aapane is post ko bahut acchi Tarah se explain kiya hai aur hamesha ki Tarah aapki koshish kabile tarif hai aur main aapki kamyabi ke liye hamesha Dua Dun Allah aapko bahut tarkki de iske alava agar main aapke content ki baat karun to yah bilkul authentic hai aur main aapki baat se agri Karti Hoon ke Genesis block blockchain per create hone wala first block hai aur iski vajah se Aage aane wale blocks bhi mutasir hote Hain.

Aapane age ko find out karne ke liye donon methods ko bahut acchi Tarah se explain Kiya hai iske alava aapane bahut detail bhi hamen samjhaya ki down time start hua hai iske alava aapane acchi Tarah se explain kiya ke kab kab is blockchain per down time past mein aaya hua hai.

Meri post per comment karne ke liye bahut shukriya aur meri hamesha ki koshish per tarif ka bhi bahut shukriya aur Main aapko yakin dilata Hun ki Main hamesha ISI Tarah content produce karta rahunga Taki aap isase bahut jyada Sikh sake aur istifa da hasil kar sake


Ji han main aapki baat se to baat karta hun okay Genesis block vah pahla block hota hai jo ki block chain ki birth ke bad create hota hai isiliye isko Ham zero block ya first block bhi kah sakte hain


Age ko find karne ke liye donon method bahut easy hain aap ismein se koi bhi method use kar sakti hain kyunki maine inko acchi Tarah se explain karne ki koshish ki hai jaise ki aapane bhi kaha ki maine inko bahut acchi details mein samjhaya hai. Main bahut jald aapki post bhi visit karunga aur dekhunga kya aapane usmein kis Tarah participate Kiya

Mere comment ko itni jyada importance Dene ka bahut shukriya aur aap bahut jyada struggle kar rahe hain aur Meri Dua hai ki Allah aapko har roj tarkki de Ameen aur is engagement challenge mein bhi aapko behad kamyabian de.

Hai sahabat!
Seperti biasa anda selalu menyajikan publikasi yang sangat menarik dan memuaskan. Ini topik yang baik untuk anda kuasai dan saya melihat bahwa anda mendapatkan nilai yang sangat bagus.
Selamat untuk anda, dan terima kasih atas publikasi anda yang sangat berharga.
Salam

hi dear I hope that you would be fine and thanks for praising my content and this word always about my content is really hearttouching. And I agree that this was a very good topic and I search the a lot and after my search I would be able to participate and if I talk about my grades then these are the fruits of my efforts nothing more than this

Thanks for wishing me congratulations and thank you for being here with your kind comment I also wish you good luck again

Of course Here we must support and respect each other. ..
You're welcome my brother

I appreciate your words that we should always be supportive for each Other because through teamwork we can get success

That's exactly my best friend
Thanks 😊

 10 months ago 

greetings friend

Your participation in this challenge of the ages of the blocks of the Steem blockchain is very interesting, the start data is impressive and how it has been maintained over time.

Your reasons for seeing when it has had a slow development and how it affected everyone is valid, since blockchain technology has evolved and must be constantly changing to improve everything in favor of users.

Thanks for sharing.

thank you so much sister for coming here with your beautiful comment at my post I am happy with your comment which is very valuable for me also and thanks for talking about my participation that you like it and especially the start data of my post you find very interesting as well as you have also say that my interesting post you find out till end


You use a word of slow development for down time and agree with you that I have explained in a reasons that why down time occurs in a detailed way. Overall I am happy that you have good understanding of this topic and I wish you good luck to you in your entry

Hola amigo, has realizado una extraordinaria publicación, te felicito.

Explicó muy bien que es el bloque Génesis y lo importante que es como base de la cadena de bloques.

Muy buen paso a paso, explicando cómo calcular la duración de la cadena de bloques.

Así es, la plataforma es muy segura pero igualmente ha tenido mometo de inactividad debido a muchas razones, como ataques cibernéticos.

Igualmente experimenté esa falla de la visualización de las imágenes.

Le deseo muchos éxitos en el concurso, buen trabajo!

Thanks a lot for visiting my publication and I am happy that you like my quality content that I you really make with great effort and thanks for congratulation me and yes I agree with you that I tried my best to explain very well about Genesis block and its importance at the base of blockchain


If I talk about calculation of the age of blockchain then I tried my best to explain two methods about it through my step by step procedure as you have also send about my content


Mostly blockchain is very secure because these are decentralized platforms but still there are some attackers that seek for opportunity to attack at the blockchain that's why don't time may also could give to some of these type of a tax as DDoS attack


I visited your entry which was superb and that's why I comment in some of my kind words at your entry and I am happy ready to see your post and thanks for wishing me success in my entry I appreciate your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52