Steemit Crypto Academy Season 5 Beginner Course - // Task 9: Blockchain Wallet-- Types, Uses, Installation, etc. by @kenneth00

in SteemitCryptoAcademy2 years ago (edited)

Red Brown and Beechwood Panel Christmas Greeting Facebook Post.png
Image created by me @kenneth00 in canva

INTRODUCTION

Greetings to every one in steemit reading this post, I am here to submit task 9 of the steemit crypto academy introductory post given by our creative professor @sapwood and i will be answering the (1st) question for task 9 on the topic "BLOCKCHAIN WALLET-- TYPES, USES, INSTALLATION, ETC."

(1) How do you store/secure your keys? What are the different forms of Private Key(Examples/Screenshot)? Download & Install TronLink Wallet(Android/iOS/Extension)? How do you store the key(Hint- write it down on a notepad, demonstrate it with examples)? Which form of the key are you comfortable with to handle your TronLink Wallet? Include Screenshots & hide/blur the sensitive information.

6yY1gd2Fy8PQdyDDkZKMW3BffNuqRmHq4s3ji7sr18yojoENbCzvNwsMcWH2He2gvd8w5imFzWJ9qjkKjGs8piDVfKvS5bzTtFj9cSgMDHrLmmFAgu2MDx2RmZaYet...rqSEsWozw28HDs8LXbBmichQajhKSLWjsxnY4grfde8aooP3xxMSg31vH4ck9xTKyLHEjdtqgoWCxMN9NCNxLu4qQZLBVcuvkWMu3BUnQQnqx8MZb5naNKGDdx.png

How do you store / protect your keys?

  • My first step after having created an account on a website, be it a social network, banking system or Blockchain Wallet or simply when making a password change either due to loss or security reasons, when I obtain the password or key I can save it in A folder if they are many, or in a TX notepad, an email draft and on other occasions I take a screenshot of it, it all depends on the level and use of the security key.

  • My second security method is to send the document or screenshot where I save the password or key to my Gmail and later forward it to another Gmail that I own for exclusive use to save my security keys.

  • My third step is to use the Google password manager to save the keys and passwords, which I consider to be very safe and very useful if we give it the correct use. It is important to emphasize that I use this manager for frequently used keys and passwords and that they do not imply such a high level of security, the most important keys are written in a journal that only I have access to.

What are the different forms of private key (examples / screenshot)?

Among the different forms of private keys we have: Private key, mnemonic key and file key of the keystore.

Private key

20211215_223441.png

The private key is of great importance, it is thr main key and it is represented with alphanumeric characters and is born from a cryptographic process, this secret key generates a public key, forming a system with two keys (Private and Public), This asymmetry provides a high security level due to its difficulty in calculating.

Mnemonic key

20211215_224419.jpg

The mnemonic key or as popularly known mnemonic phrase is based on a memorization technique by mental photo memory of the information, this key has the same functions as the private key with a few difference that its possess.

Today, a huge number of crypto wallets use the mnemonic phrase or mnemonic keys which is easy to use, hard to understand and hard for people to memorize. The mnemonic phrases are generated from 12, 15, 18, 21, 24 different words.

It is important to emphasize that this form of key has the same number quantities as the hexadecimal private key in its codes, only it is expressed with another writing (combination of words).

Keystore file (JSON file)

20211215_224854.png

Firstly, I must say that the keystore file is another form of private key or similar, differentiating itself from the other forms by requiring that a private password formed by the user will be generated, in this way an encrypted version of the JSON format of our key is obtained. Protected with a advance level of security.

Download and install TronLink Wallet (Android / iOS / Extension)

I am going to download the TronLink Wallet from playstore with my andriod phone

Step 1: Locate and open playstore app on your andriod phone

Screenshot_20211215-225651_Google Play Store.jpg

Step 2: Use the search bar to look for tron link app, then you will see tronlink pro just click it.

Screenshot_20211215-230040_Google Play Store.jpg

Step 3: After clicking it you will see a new page come up then just click install and it will download and install automatically.

Screenshot_20211215-230353_Google Play Store.jpg

*Step 4: open the app then create account or import account if you already have a tronlink wallet, but in this article i am going to be creating a new wallet or account

Screenshot_20211215-230801_TronLink Pro.jpg

Step 5: Agree to their terms and then set a name for your wallet then set a password after all that click confirm

Step 6: Backup your Mnemonic key, make sure you back it up then after that your wallet is ready to be used.

20211215_232135.jpg

How is the key saved (Hint: write it down in a notepad, demonstrate with examples)?

I keep the secret key in an exclusive notepad for my Blockchain wallets and later sent it to a my email for my private key and the mnemonic key I wrote down in a notebook because they are keys that require greater security and in this way I keep them offline.

Which form of the key are you comfortable with to handle your TronLink Wallet? Include Screenshots & hide/blur the sensitive information.

The experience I have with the different crypto wallet tells me that the mnemonic key gives me a lot of confidence and advance security, it is very easy to turn on the words in the form of a sentence, this type of key for me i think is the best I have seen.

20211215_224419.jpg

Conclusion

I finish this homework with a great learning about this topic as how important the security of our keys is, where every day I improve my techniques for safeguarding my secret keys. The Wallet Blockchain system is very interesting when you create them, they generate your private key and that is where your public key is born.

Thanks For Reading

3zpz8WQe4SNGWd7TzozjPgq3rggennavDx3XPY35pEAVnprQ9ckeyB6jR3qsiLgTpZYs1LqzmbNFwnskd89ibsM4KEWyh2RAPErmXJBm9keyP2G9akM6rqjswsnwfUB8a79StwtE9oCyinw9STyg.png

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97