Crypto Academy Week 6 - Homework Post for [@yohan2on] / Tether USDT

in SteemitCryptoAcademy4 years ago (edited)


stable coins.png

Background Source


Welcome to one more post that counts as my "Homework" for week 6 for teacher @yohan2on. I really liked this week's topic and Prof. Yohan has made a flawless post regarding the Stable Coins.



test separador.png


When we talk about cryptocurrencies, a term that is named quite a lot is the "volatility", for those who still do not know what it means, we can say that volatility is the intensity and frequency with respect to the value of some asset, in this case, cryptocurrencies, then there are a number of factors that influence the volatility of cryptocurrencies, such as news events, liquidity, whales, market size, forks, among other things. But what if I tell you that there are cryptocurrencies with an almost constant value, that's right, meet Tether (USDT).



test separador.png


Tether

Tether was founded in mid-November 2015, although the project began in 2014 by J.R Willet, it is a stable digital currency, as described by the founders, it should be noted that it is governed under the Omni protocol: a system that allows the creation of tokens and runs on the Bitcoin network.

This currency is backed by the Dollar, Euro and presumably by the Japanese Yen and has a 1:1 parity with the dollar, i.e. in the exchanges each USDT token has the same value as a dollar. This cryptocurrency is ranked #5 in the ranking of cryptocurrencies and as you can see in the following image, the value is almost constant.


image.png

Source

In 2017 it dropped around $0.91 however it returned to its normal stature and has small variations between $1.04 and $0.98 approximately, however, on exchanges you can find this coin always with the value of $1.



test separador.png


Example:

At the time of this publication the Chilliz (CHZ) cryptocurrency has a value of $0.5 (it is not a constant $0.5, the value is totally volatile).


image.png

Source

And I want to buy Chilliz (CHZ) from Tether which is the cryptocurrency I have, I can do it through an Exchange and it would look like this:


image.png

Source

We can say that 1 USDT is equivalent to 2 CHZ, so if I want to buy 10 CHZ it will cost me 5 USDT.

  • If I want to buy 1 BTC (price about 56.000$) I have to pay 56.000$ USDT.

  • If I want to buy 1 SBD (price approx. 6.82$) I have to pay 6.82$ Tether.



test separador.png


Benefits and advantages of Tether (USDT).

  • Transactions traditionally take several days to complete, on the Tether network transactions usually take seconds or at most a few minutes.

  • Tether does not charge fees for transactions between Tether wallets, however, the fees charged by specific cryptocurrency wallets and exchanges are usually lower than the fees for dollar transactions.

  • You can shelter your funds in Tether without worrying about volatility, plus you won't need to leave the Blockchain.

  • You can make digital exchanges,

Where can I purchase the Tether?

You can buy USDT through Exchanges, these allow you to buy it directly from your bank accounts, you can also exchange other cryptocurrencies to acquire tether.


image.png

Due to the popularity and success of the Tether you can find in a lot of Exchanges to exchange USDT with other cryptocurrencies, this is just a short list of some of the exchanges offered by the exchange Binance


image.png



test separador.png


Personal recommendation.

This cryptocurrency is not new to me, I have been exchanging and making my first investments with Tether and other cryptocurrencies for a few weeks, Tether has helped me to save funds and be able to exchange them at any time for other cryptocurrencies.


image.png

Source

I currently have 69 USDT tokens which is equivalent to $69 (not counting decimals). If you are not an expert in cryptocurrencies you should at least have a basic understanding of them before buying or trading them.

If you want to trade or simply want to safeguard your tokens safely I recommend using Tether, it can help you to avoid being a victim of volatility and take the stress off your shoulders, however do not stop learning about this beautiful world of cryptocurrencies, as this is the revolution of the economy in my opinion.



test separador.png


Many thanks to the Steemit team and teacher @yohan2on for this opportunity.


image.png

Sort:  

Hi @imagen

Thanks for attending the 6th -Crypto course and for your effort in doing the given homework task.

Feedback
This is very good work. I enjoyed reading every text of your article. Well researched and explained in a clear and easily understandable way.

This cryptocurrency is not new to me, I have been exchanging and making my first investments with Tether and other cryptocurrencies for a few weeks, Tether has helped me to save funds and be able to exchange them at any time for other cryptocurrencies

Glad you incorporated in your personal experience with Tether. I think I also better start buying and saving some of my funds in Tether.

Homework task
10

Thank you very much professor! I liked this week's topic very much.

I totally recommend it, saving funds in Tether has been a very good option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66