Crypto-Academy Week 2 || Homework Post || Blockchain Wallet by @sapwood

in SteemitCryptoAcademy3 years ago (edited)

Hello and Welcome to my Homework Post for week 2. I found the Lecture from sapwood very easy and thus i tried to complete the homework task given by @sapwood.

If you have missed the lecture post, You can find it here

image.png

Homework Task:

How do I download & install a wallet? Examples(Hint- Etherum, Tron, etc or any other you wish to)? How do I restore a wallet using a Private key/Mnemonic key/Keystore file? How important is the Mnemonic key or Private Key or Keystore File during the installation/restoration of a wallet? How do you store/secure your keys? Examples? Any Blockchain wallet you have used before, having the experience of any/all the three forms of keys-- Private/Mnemonic/Keystore file?

Question 1 : How do I download & install a wallet?

The wallets can be downloaded from there different links. Let's in this post, we talk about Tron Link Pro Wallet as we also have a Steem Tron Integration on this Platform. So Tron Link pro can be easily downloaded from the tron.org website . From this website, you can download both android and IOS. Also you can scan to download and a chrome extension can also be made.

Link to Website


Question 2 : How do I restore a wallet using a Private key/Mnemonic key/Keystore file?

To Restore a wallet, First you need to create wallet.

When we created or joined the Steem Trx Integration, we downloaded a PDF File where we had our tron keys, So when using Tron link pro, we just have to Place our private key in the App and then we could easily access our wallet using the Private key. This can also be done using Mnemonic key or KeyStore File.


Question : 3 : How important is the Mnemonic key or Private Key or Keystore File during the installation/restoration of a wallet?

The importance of all these keys is of utmost importance. I mean as discussed above, the creation or restoration of a wallet requires any one of these. So if you don't have these keys, you just simply can not create or restore your wallet. So it is better to secure all of them. Now how to secure the keys is our Next question.


Questions:4 : How do you store/secure your keys?


image.png

src img

As already discussed above, that these keys are of great importance. SO it is obvious that their security should be special. I plan to keep my keys save in a pdf file first that is downloaded during the time of download and then i create a separate pdf file which i keep in my pc, my mail and on my google drive. Second thing i do is that i save all my passwords in the google account. The third and final thing i do is that i write them down in a paper and keep that paper in my file of documents which is always everywhere with me. Other thing that i have done is something special. I applied the Playfair cipher on my private key and then wrote it in my file. Now if in case someone steal that, he still won't be able to guess my key because there is an entirely different cipher and every time he would enter that, he would get the wrong password popup :p

I hope i have answered all the questions and provided relevant answers. Hope Sir Sapwood would like this :)

Special Mentions:
@steemcurator01 @steemcurator02

Yours, @haidermehdi.

Sort:  

Post was shared to twitter:

image.png

Thank you for submitting homework task-2 in crypto-academy.

I plan to keep my keys save in a pdf file first that is downloaded during the time of download and then i create a separate pdf file which i keep in my pc, my mail and on my google drive.

Don't take screenshots, don't store your PDF file or key in email or google drive. The best practice is to write it down and keep a hard copy. Better divide it into 3/4 parts and keep them in different places.

To Restore a wallet, First you need to create wallet.
When we created or joined the Steem Trx Integration, we downloaded a PDF File where we had our tron keys, So when using Tron link pro, we just have to Place our private key in the App and then we could easily access our wallet using the Private key. This can also be done using Mnemonic key or KeyStore File.

I was expecting more details with screenshots and step-by-step methods to create/restore a wallet, that way, you get to know both the things-- How you create a wallet and how you restore it. So in any unforeseen event, you will always remain assured of your fund as through such tasks you get to know more details about wallet security and restoring a wallet, and unlock the fund. So you should gain sufficient user-experience as there is an extrinsic motivation(upvote) attached to it.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13