Steemit Crypto Academy Season 4 - Homework Post for Task 9 -Blockchain Wallet, Types, Uses, Installation ||by@desiigner

in SteemitCryptoAcademy3 years ago


95E16F50-A554-4BFE-B818-4836D1DC2EB1.jpeg

Hello steemians,
I’ll will to Thank the Almighty for giving me the strength and energy to be able to do this assignment and also professor @sapwood for knowledge shared through this lecture.

I’m here with my Answer for the Beginner course task 9 on Blockchain Wallet, Types, Uses, Installation.

(1) How do you store/secure your keys? What are the different forms of Private Key(Examples/Screenshot)? Download & Install TronLink Wallet(Android/iOS/Extension)? How do you store the key(Hint- write it down on a notepad, demonstrate it with examples)? Which form of the key are you comfortable with to handle your TronLink Wallet? Include Screenshots & hide/blur the sensitive information.

ED62CA14-8F89-498D-BA62-AAABBB31FFB0.png

How I store/secure my keys

Just as the name , A key is the key to every activity in a blockchain , they’re sensitive and without the keys users can’t have control over anything in the blockchain, the can conduct transactions and all other activities pertaining the blockchain . So it’s very important that one should secure his/her keys at a very safe place where he/she can retrieve it anytime he’s in need of it.

Generally when signing up on a blockchain , a new user is given keys those keys will be use to perform transactions and all other activities on the blockchain . The keys are usually give in the form for f Private keys and then public keys.

Private keys: Private keys as it suggests should be kept private /to yourself where no one can get access to it private keys are just like PIN numbers , signatures and so on which are supposed to be unique to one particular person. In a case another party gets access to your private key your account is compromised.

Public keys: the public key plays the same role as an account number for banks and other financial organizations. The public is a means of receiving or depositing money without one knowing your account number a person cannot send you money so the public keys are public and can be held by anyone who you trust. It’s just like mobile money where you have your phone number and pin , you give out your number for money to sent to your account but no one is supposed to know your pin because it’s Private so you keep it away from everyone because that’s what you’ll use to withdraw your money. The same applies to private and public keys.

Knowing the worth of the keys I decide to keep it safe out of reach to anybody.I first saved it on my phone’s cloud storage where I alone can access it, I also saved it on the drafts of my gmail so I’ll be able to access it wherever I am even if I’m not with my phone I can open gmail and retrieve it from there. I then also stored it on my Personal computer in a hidden and encrypted folder for it to be secure.

ED62CA14-8F89-498D-BA62-AAABBB31FFB0.png

The Different Forms Of Private Keys

There basically three forms of private keys which include:

Private key: the Private it key a randomly generated alphanumeric (VarChar) code by blockchain wallet granted to a new user when he/she creates a blockchain account. The Private key is used to perform cryptographic functions like transfer crypto to another peer and other activities on the blockchain.

Example

A5GCF57DWT598EERPPHGKTC1DRTYXXZ83TCYRP

Mnemonic Key: Unlike the Private key the Mnemonic keys (Mnemonic phrase)are readable and can be easily handled ed but in terms of functions it serves the same function as the Private key. The Mnemonic key are usually 12 to 24 characters long and are therefore memorizable.

Example

5CDC5A99-30FA-4A46-B437-EBE8006E5346.jpeg

Keystore file: the keystore file is a JSON file that’s acts more like a repository for private keys , the keystore file is more like a private key but it’s not the key store file is used to restore a blockchain wallet with the help of user password used when setting up a blockchain wallet. The keystore file in conjunction with the user password give the private key.

Example

A0ECAE08-5C4D-47C4-B05B-071DCE9B975D.jpeg
source

ED62CA14-8F89-498D-BA62-AAABBB31FFB0.png

DOWNLOAD & INSTALL TRONLINK WALLET(ANDRIOD/IOS/EXTENSION)

You can download and install TronLink wallet on android through play store and on IOS on AppStore by just looking it up and click download or add the Tronlink extension to your browser.

I’ll like to show you how to download TronLink on IOS.

NB: @sapwood I had already downloaded the Tronlink before so I can’t actually do all the demonstrations with my phone so I’ll write the process but take the screenshot from somewhere but will source it .

  • go to AppStore, search for TronLink in the search box and select it.

7A9A930E-E48C-4B42-9FB2-E11DDBD5C9B9.jpeg

  • Click On install.in my case update because Tronlink is already installed on my phone.

F9CAB38D-E909-4C71-A4BA-35B20594DDE5.jpeg

  • wait for it to download, then click on Open.

240E39AF-8B1F-45C0-B9E0-07C84F42FFB1.jpeg

  • Click on create Account if you don’t have any.

  • Enter Wallet Name and click continue.

22CFA71F-9D9E-48AE-BF07-B13B2C9C2B34.jpeg

source

  • Enter Wallet Password and submit.

03266E4C-D2ED-4104-9026-E673B1B91694.jpeg

source

  • Repeat the wallet Password.

2A93AB93-587D-4B8E-A610-C27C3370CD20.jpeg

source

  • Write Down your Mnemonic keys.l and click on the button below it.

E8DD550E-753A-4685-B264-F133650C5012.jpeg

source

  • Confirm your Mnemonic keys and click continue.

0D2959A1-C2F7-4887-A2D7-D9ECC01F2593.jpeg

source

  • Your wallet will be created successfully.

990FFB84-9DB4-4635-AB58-FFC96FB06154.png

ED62CA14-8F89-498D-BA62-AAABBB31FFB0.png

HOW I STORE THE KEYS(HINT-WRITE IT DOWN ON A NOTEPAD, DEMONSTRATE IT WITH EXAMPLES)

Apart from the Wallet saving the keys , I save my keys on my phones iCloud which I alone has access to them, I also store on the drafts of my Gmail account so I can be able to get it through gmail if my phone is not with me .

1F2A6204-091A-4133-8D6B-19A84FA4629B.jpeg

34E0C3EF-3271-499B-81D9-DFDBC0322114.png

The form of the keys I’m comfortable with to handle my TronLink Wallet

For me I think for me the Private key is best suited to handle my TronLink wallet because I thinks is difficult to memorize and in a case someone glacé at it he can’t be able to memorize it. But in the cas eid Mnemonic keys a person can just memorize by taking a look at it so I prefer the Private key because it’s structure and also how long it is.

61EE6FED-D2A7-4421-A162-41DD1E4E5ED8.jpeg

Conclusion

I will like to appreciate professor @sapwood for the good job done and I hope I’ve covered all questions asked.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77