Crypto Academy Season 3 Beginners Course || Blockchain Wallet-- Types, Uses, Installation etc

in SteemitCryptoAcademy3 years ago

How do you store/secure your keys? What are the different forms of private keys(screenshot/example)? Download and Install Tron link wallet (Android/iOS/Extension)?How do you store the keys(Hint- write it down on a notepad, demonstrate it with examples? Which form of the key are you comfortable with to handle your Tron Link wallet? Include screenshot, hide/blur the sensitive information

Having gone through assignment i would very much like to attempt the questions sequentially one at a time.

How Do I Secure/Store My Keys

Well i think the keys are very important in every blockchain wallet since it serves as a piece of security to help keep our account safe in a way that we can only be able to access it. Unlike a centralised exchange which could be liable to hacks a decentralized blockchain wallet offers more security in that we are in control of our set of private keys so that means that this keys must be stored safely by us since it is our sole responsibility to avoid anyone from having access to our wallet.

Personally to store my keys i do it in various ways which involves writing it down in a book or a notepad this one ensures that i can easily have quick access to it when I want to. Another way or another form that I also used to secure my keys is saving it as a draft message in my email account and also saving it or backing it up in an online cloud in case i were to lose my phone so these are the various ways that i used in securing or to storing my keys.

The Different Forms Of Private Keys

Private Keys
A private key are a bunch of random characters created with cryptographic functions which allows us to have access to the crypto asset in our wallet and be able to spend it at will.
IMG-20210703-WA0011.jpg Example of a private key

Mnemonic Key
This is a collection of between 12 and 24 english words used to backup our blockchain wallet. Which is based on the Bitcoin improvement propasal 39 (BIP-39) which sets the standard for Mnemonic phrase or keys as they are known.

Well the Mnemonic Key we can recover all our wallet keys and transactions no matter how many they are even if our transactions are in the thousands with the Mnemonic keys we can retrieve them back.

IMG-20210703-WA0013.jpgimage source
A Mnemonic key example

Keystore File
This is a private key that has been encrypted with the password you gave it when creating your blockchain wallet. Alone does not make up a private key but goes together with the password we created locally while launching our app for the first time and as a private key can then be used to restore our wallet.
IMG-20210703-WA0012.jpg Example of a keystore File

Download Tronlink Pro

Well to do that i visited Google playstore.
Screenshot_20210703-193045.png

After the download I launched the app

Screenshot_20210703-193532.png

Now since my intention is not to restore but rather to create a new wallet I click on create account.

Of course when i did that i was asked to set a name for my account
Screenshot_20210703-193558.png

I did that and then I was asked to set up my password
Screenshot_20210703-193632.png

after setting up my password i was asked to backup my Mnemonic keys or phrase which I backed away with my notepad proof of it below.

IMG_20210703_194851.jpg

Then after backing it up and was asked to input the fifth and the 10th one. I tried taking screenshot of course but i was not allowed. I was simply told screenshot not allowed. So that was how I safely back up my mnemonic code on my notepad.

After which my account was safely created

Screenshot_20210703-194516.png

Which keys do i prefer

Personally I prefer the Mnemonic keys among the other keys. I think the reasons are quite obvious as the case may be.

For one, the Mnemonic keys readable and written in english. And i tell you i love english. And since it is written in a way that it could be easily understood i think that makes it easy to store and secure in a notepad unlike the other set of private keys. And for me, the Mnemonic keys which are of 12 characters alone i can easily memorize them since they are readable. I don't see myself memorizing a keystore file.

So for the operating of my tron link pro wallet I very much more prefer the Mnemonic keys.

Conclusion

In all i believe this set of keys is what sets a decentralized blockchain wallet apart from a centralised exchange in that we are in sole custody of our access codes. this also ensures that our wallet are safe from hackers unless of course we are to expose our keys publicly.

Indeed this keys (private key, Mnemonic key, Keystore file) makes the blockchain wallet a decentralized one and adds more security to it. This set of keys also help us to restore our wallets, it's full asset and transactions in case if lost.

All images used are properly cited those that appear not cited are screenshots taken by me on Tronlink Pro wallet and Google play store others were edited by me

Sort:  

Hello @chirich , I’m glad you participated in the 6th Task of the Beginner’s class at the Steemit Crypto Academy. Your grades in this task are as follows:

CriteriaRatings
Presentation / Use of Markdowns1.5/2
Compliance with topic1.5/2
Spelling and Grammar1.5/2
Quality of Analysis1.5/2
Originality1.5/2
Total7.5



Observations:

I also used to secure my keys is saving it as a draft message in my email account

Please note that this is very risky. Storing your private keys online makes it prone to hacking.

Recommendation / Feedback:

  • You have demonstrated your understanding of Private keys.
  • Similarly, you answered every question correctly and in your own words.
  • Your presentation is good. But you can improve your writing skills by working on your Markdown styles.

Thank you for submitting your homework task 6. We hope to see the rest of your submissions.

Thanks for the honest review Prof @reminiscence01

Good post for an explanation of the function of those keys

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87