Steemit Crypto Academy – Season 2 - Week 3 - Post for @yohan2on

in SteemitCryptoAcademy3 years ago (edited)

steemit crypto academy -Designing a Cryptocurrency Investment portfolio.jpg

Hello awesome people, how is everyone doing today, we are in the third day of the week, so many great things happening… still a fresh new week and as always, the new week comes with so much excitements. This week’s topic is about designing a cryptocurrency investment portfolio.

My Investment Portfolio and Why I Choose to Invest in Them

For me, when it comes to building a cryptocurrency investment portfolio, I like to have a strategy and there are a couple of factors that I pay close attention to before I go ahead to invest in any of the cryptocurrencies. One of the factors I focus on is the marketcap of the project, depending on the number of assets I want in my investment portfolio, I like to have a mix of large marketcap, mid marketcap and low marketcap and a stable coin. Stable coin so I can capitalize on opportunities that may arise.

  • Litecoin - LTC
  • Binance – BNB
  • Tron – TRX
  • Zilliqa – ZIL
  • Reef – REEF
  • USD Coin - USDC

High Marketcap Coins - Why I Chose Litecoin (LTC) and Binance Coin (BNB)

Litecoin (LTC) and Binance Coin (BNB) are the two high marketcap cryptocurrencies I added to my portfolio. For me, I feel there is still a lot more to come from Litecoin and Binance Coin BNB. If you look at Bitcoin and what it has done so far, I believe LTC and BNB have some massive rise in price in the future.

At the moment, Binance Coin BNB and Litecoin LTC are sitting on number 3 and 10 respectively on coinmarketcap. Similar to Bitcoin, Litecoin has a pretty small max supply. Litecoin is 4 times the max supply of Bitcoin at 84 million LTC, so if Bitcoin with 21 million max supply is over $50k, then there is still a probability that Litecoin could at least go over $5k in few years.

BNB has a pretty small max supply with a max supply of 170,532,785 BNB… Looking at utility of BNB at the moment, how the binance smart chain is a huge competitor to ethereum, and the number of projects that are on the binance smart chain, there is no doubt that BNB still have room for price growth. BNB can reach over $2k in price in few years. Both BNB and LTC have strong fundamentals which makes them an easy choice for me to add in my portfolio.

Mid Marketcap Coins - Why I Chose Tron (TRX) and Zilliqa (ZIL)

Tron (TRX) and Zilliqa (ZIL) are the two mid marketcap cryptocurrencies I added to my portfolio. One of the main reason why I prefer TRX and ZIL over the other mid marketcap coins is because Tron and Zilliqa are two super-fast blockchain with smart contract functionalities and capabilities and very low fees as well. Looking at how slow ethereum is and the high transaction fees on ethereum, it is just a matter of time before projects being to look for other alternatives to ethereum - smart contract blockchains with low fees.

Both TRX and ZIL still have a lot of room to grow, TRX hasn’t even reached its previous all-time high, and can still do 5x and still not be in the top five on coinmarketcap, that is to show the growth potential of TRX. Same with ZIL, ZIL has a lot of room for growth, similar to TRX, ZIL can do over 10x and still not be in the top 8 coins… That is to show the massive growth potential of ZIL.

Low Marketcap Coin - Why I Chose Reef Finance (REEF)

Reef (REEF) is the only low marketcap cryptocurrency I added to my portfolio. This because I prefer to have the fewest number of low marketcap coins in my portfolio as a risk management strategy. REEF is a solid project and looking at the current price of REEF and the marketcap, I feel that REEF has the most room for improvement in my portfolio. This is because REEF can easily do over 20x and still not be in the top 10 on coinmarketcap. That is to show the tremendous growth potential of REEF.

Stable Coin - Why I Chose USD Coin (USDC)

I like to have a stable coin in my portfolio as a strategy as as to be able to take advantage of any investment opportunities that comes. I prefer USDC because USDC is very stable and is backed by the US dollar.

Use a Crypto wallet of your choice to hold your 6 cryptocurrencies

For this demonstration, I used blockfolio as a wallet to build and hold my investment portfolio. Blockfolio is an amazing app for building investment portfolio because it allows tracking of the assets and also has amazing features such as calculating profit and loss. Blockfolio also allows connecting to exchange account using API key.

Wait for a day or 2days, then showcase the final results of your

Following my investment strategy, I invested $151.37 in total to build my portfolio; following my investment strategy, I put in more funds on the large marketcap coins, and the least funds on the low marketcap coin. My highest funds stays in stable coin to capitalize on opportunities.

CryptocurrencyAmount Invested
Litecoin - LTC$34.06
Binance Coin - BNB$28.59
Tron - TRX$18.88
Zilliqa - ZIL$23.06
Reef Finance - REEF$14.70
USD Coin - USDC$39.97
----------------------------------------------------
Total ---------------------$159.27

screenshot BG_Portfolio_1.jpg

screenshot BG_Portfolio_2.jpg

Final Result After 1day

screenshot BG_Portfolio_8.jpg

Use proper screenshots to showcase before and after. Is your total crypto portfolio in profits or losses?...

After 1 day of my Portfolio, there is a loss of $8.52

Before

screenshot BG_Portfolio_7.jpg

After 1day

screenshot BG_Portfolio_8.jpg

CryptocurrencyValue BeforeValue After
Litecoin - LTC$34.06$32.60
Binance Coin - BNB$28.59$26.97
Tron - TRX$18.88$18.32
Zilliqa - ZIL$23.06$18.62
Reef Finance - REEF$14.70$14.24
USD Coin - USDC$39.97$40

Apart from USDC that made a slight increase, all every other cryptocurrencies were at a loss

Made Profit - USDC
Made Loss - LTC, BNB, TRX, ZIL, REEF

Loss percentage = 5.34346%

@yohan2on

Sort:  

Litecoin - LTC
Binance – BNB
Tron – TRX
Zilliqa – ZIL
Reef – REEF
USD Coin - USDC

Good coinselection. In my opinion BNB alredy pump huge ,may be it can pump another 50 to 100% so we get 0.5 to 1X results only.

Incestong in huge pump coin not a good choice.

But reef,zil,Trx and LTC are excellent selection.

Its my own opinion,I am not a financial advisor.

Nice presentation from you. Take care.

Hi @chimzycash

Thanks for participating in the Steemit Crypto Academy

Feedback

Reasons for your 6 selected CryptocurrenciesScreenshots/evidencePresentation of the results
3/33/32/4

This is good content. Well done with the designing of your Crypto investment portfolio. I believe it's just because of the slight drop in BTC that caused most of your digital assets to fall in price value. In trading, what goes down must always come back up. The prices will finally recover and make you some profits. Otherwise thanks for demonstrating your understanding of a Crypto investment portfolio.

Homework task
8

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76