Crypto Academy Week 5 Homework Post for [@gbenga

in SteemitCryptoAcademy4 years ago

A wallet in the crypto world does not mean wallet used to keep physical cash or identification documents by individuals. It is rather an application whereby assets (crypto currencies) are stored on the blockchain.

Securing your wallet on blockchain is essential as any mistake could or can result to lost of assets. Once you tamper with your keys, the rest is history as the account cannot be recovered.

Notwithstanding, one of the security problem posed by cryptocurrency is attacks on the wallet software. This is a situation whereby a malicious link is being used to trick someone of an awarded asset. Once you click on the link, it indicates that you should input your private key in order to claim the asset. Immediately this is done, the jackers claimed all your assets and the owner loses all.

My personal experience on such cryptocurrency security problem is on steemit. This guy comment on a post claiming he got 400STEEM by clicking a link which has limited time.

314DB17F-58AF-4955-B98D-1A84430B4FFD.jpeg
Screenshot on Steemit

I once read about attacks on wallets, so I was a bit informed about phished links. I am equally someone who loves to explore while learning. I click the link and it required I input my details and equally provide my master key. I decided to input fake details. What was funny is that I input a master key of not up to 5 characters and a message pop up that ‘thanks, your request is submitted’.

Lesson Leraned
-Do not trust links which require you to input your private key.
-Put it on your forehead that your private key remains your private and personal key not to be shared to third parties.

CC: @gbenga

Sort:  

Hello @chant, I must commend your effort in putting this post together but your post is less than 300 words which makes it ineligible for curation. Please create a different post and make it more detailed this time.

You can write on cryptocurrency security problems and breaches and you could further share a personal experience if any.

Thanks

Hi @gbenga thanks for going through my post but I wish to find out if I can edit the post rather than doing a different write up. Waiting for your positive response. Regards.

Hello, I will appreciate if you create a different post and allow me review it again... Hoping to see your corrected assignment 😉😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76