The Steemit Crypto Academy Week 4: All About the Ethereum Blockchain

Hello @gbenga, my name is @allbert and today I am officially joining your classes, posting my first assignment. For me it is an honor and I hope to continue learning from you and your wonderful course.

I want to add that although it is my first assignment, I previously read your other classes.

From among several options I decided to make my assignment talking about Decentraland. Since through it several dreams of my children are fulfilled.

1.png Decentraland Lobby, Source: https://play.decentraland.org/?realm=loki-amber

I remember when the animated movie Ralph Breaks the Internet and the live action movie Ready Player one came out, I thought it was magnificent to be able to immerse ourselves in a virtual world like Mega City where we could access thousands of possibilities that the internet offers us. I did not know that a group of people had already dreamed of the same thing and had made it come true through Decentraland.

Decentraland is a virtual reality platform programmed in Ethereum, and the best way to explain it is that it is an open and decentralized virtual world which is built and owned by users, who can buy a parcel of virtual land and build on it what they want.

As an experience we have the opportunity to explore different environments, go from a spatial challenge to a dungeon in the pure Lord of the Rings style.

But the most interesting thing is when a user owns a virtual space or parcel of virtual land, since they can decide the type of content they will publish on it. (As a kind of virtual store or business). Users can create, discover, experiment, and monetize. The contents can be from images to interactive systems such as arcade games.

2.png Decentraland Lobby, Source: https://decentraland.org/

There is literally a whole different world in there, it's like a huge fantasy land. There is no central organization that controls what happens, only content creators can decide whether or not to remove it.

It could be defined as an open economy project, the owners are the users and they can create their world according to their own visions. Additionally, just as you can buy digital land, you can use this platform to buy other things (digital assets or not).

People can build whatever they imagine, there can be virtual encounters between friends. The idea is that users spend the token called (MANA) on goods and experiences in this world, later this token will be used to incentivize the creation of new content. In fact the potential of this platform is unlimited, for example:

1.If I were a Fashion Designer, I could build a virtual fashion gallery and offer all my creations in it and then sell them in the real world.

2. This case is more real; In my case, I work in Real Estate, I could build virtual replicas of my clients' houses and organize virtual reality visits for clients on the other side of the globe.

3. As a musician, I could organize rehearsal sessions, or concerts in a virtual space for my friends and for anyone who wants to get close.

3.png Decentraland Builder, Source: https://builder.decentraland.org/pools?page=1&sort_by=likes&sort_order=desc

As I said, the potential is unlimited, and the limit is only in our creativity.

Being a space without a regulatory authority, it could become a risk space and be invaded by unwanted content. To avoid this, the possibility of putting filters on the content has been created, users will be able to block the content they do not want to see.

For those of us who want to learn how to use this platform, we have the ease of accessing the tutorials created by Decentraland, which explain everything you need to know.

Not only are the possibilities of virtual reality amazing, but what can be created in it using the Blockchain. Decentraland is created by the community and it is the creativity of the users that makes it a project with unlimited potential.
Sort:  

Building a virtual world is an interesting project to launch on the Ethereum blockchain. You can also share about its Governance, MANA token, and many more so your post is more detailed.

Rating 5

Thanks for the feedback... Do I have to repeat de homework with That new topics?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83