You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A thin line between fun and danger

in Dream Steem4 months ago

You once told me that Nigerian parents beat their children relatively often... But I certainly don't see violence as an expression of great concern.

We share the experience of almost drowning: I was 19 when I was "dead" for a few minutes and was resuscitated. I can still physically feel the numbness in the water today. Did you ever learn to swim later?

Sort:  

Yea.. I finally learned to swim in that same river.. but u see that crossing over to the other side of the river, I never attempted it again because of fear..

Even this days, whenever I visit the village, I hardly see kids go to swim in the river except for fishermen. Growing up, swimming was like a compulsory thing for everyone because of the communal clashes with other neighboring communities… so, swimming was your best route of escape in case you are caught unaware.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45