Responsibility - a Dream Steem story Between The Lines

in Dream Steem5 months ago (edited)

It's true he loves crafts but he was not a genius, not to mention his lack of artistic talent and imagination.

A heap of sand here, digging a hole there, adding a bucket of water and his masterpiece was done. He looked around and thought he could add something extra. Fanatically he hacked into a rock. The pieces of stone flew around and bounced off the rocky surface, starting a fire.

How clever of me, he said, I invented fire and now I need a master to oversee my hellish job. The result was not bad and satisfied he put his fireproof servant to work.

He liked pulling the strings, but that infernal fire that was burning wouldn't last long if there was nothing to burn.

I'll make sure you have plenty of work and keep it burning, fiery man, before you know everything will be set on fire!

Sand, and water, mixed well, he added some glue and clay. If I just keep working I'll be done in an hour or two. Unimaginative as he was, he sculpted his image in the ashes of the almost extinguished fire.

Look at that! Hu man, you're as good as finished, I just need to attach the strings.

He happily pulled on it. By controlling the strings he got everything done!





Oh, Master, said the little slave at his side while sparks of fire flew from his eyes. He was moved that the almighty was so decisive. A tear of emotion sizzled briefly on his hot face before evaporating into steam.

Have fun, here is the encyclopedia with all the rules of your life. As you know, I am in control, if you do wrong you will burn in hell forever, the fire of this steaming young man.

Can I have one too or at least try once, asked the guardian of the nearly dead fire enthusiastically.

Hands off, don't touch, I am the lord and master, the almighty, the creator. Everything is mine including you. It's me who pulls the strings, call it responsibility, destiny or karma. I decide and your only task is to keep the fire burning that I so geniusly invented. I'll take care of the rest.

He happily continued to model. He got the hang of it and soon his army was ready.

Populate my world but stick to the rules!




What about free will, one wanted to know, when you're pulling the strings...

Naturally, but within the rules of the law.

Whose law, Lady Justice wanted to know, she had just been put on a pedestal by some new folks.

Who are you, he roared and with all his might he pulled the strings of law, the rock in the surf, to silence his opposite.




The knock on his door startled him.

Justin, are you using that damned computer again, shouted his father behind the closed door, get out of your room immediately!

Wildly the man pounded on the boy's bedroom door.

Get out now! Leave and go outside, you children spend far too much time indoors. Keep your little sister busy, push her swing for a change!

On his way out, he glanced briefly at his parents, sitting on the couch looking bored like usual for as long as he could remember.


1st Photo: @soulfuldreamer
11-3-2024 
Prompt: responsibility + both pictures
I am a mobile phone user only


2nd Photo - wordbuilding prompt Source

PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

Posted using SteemPro Mobile




Sort:  

Fiksi yang menarik, anda sangat menguasai bidang ini, selamat semoga sukses. Bolehkah anggota my diary yang belum punya club untuk ikut kontes ini?.

Can my diary members who don't have a club take part in this contest?

Yes, they certainly can.
I have not mentioned any such thing in the guidelines.

Please anyone can participate :)
Just make sure to link the post under the contest post and use #scarlet as the first hashtag. And of course the contribution should be in Dream Steem Community.

Rest, sky is the limit...

Terima kasih atas informasinya

Yes without a club they can join here and the freewriters @freewritehouse as well. There are two more "contests" they might like.

One is a picture chain and the other one a story chain (continuing a story - the last left command - with 50 words only.

They can use the tags #creativewriting #story #steemexclusive #newcomer

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Your story is a deeply evocative work that expertly plays with themes of power and responsibility. Through creative metaphor and the contrast between play and reality, you have beautifully captured the complexity of human dynamics. Your narrative is rich and imaginative, a real pleasure to read.

You left me a super response like always. Enough food for thought (always good for a next story) which is appreciated.

All the best. Will try to finish the Darko review, too much came in between.

A great day/evening.

❤️🍀

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

It's a pleasure to comment on your works, always super top. I'm participating in a contest in the Latino community on movie review, maybe you're interested in Darko👍

The ending got me👏👏👏
Kids these days don't know life lies in boredom. They would scroll unconsciously those 25seconds videos on tiktok,ultimately reduction in attention span and increment in frustration follow.

While we enjoyed playing games outdoor and never heard the word boredom before technology invaded.

Pushing little sister's swing sounds like a punishment, oh poor boy.

Indeed we never heard of 'boredom' and till today I never feel bored.
Children rarely play outside, not since the past 10-25 years. Kind of sad.

Playing with his sister might be a punishment but it feels to me his parents do not set a foot outside either. Seems to me Justin doesn't understand why his parents are allowed to stay inside and he's not.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

why his parents are allowed to stay inside and he's not.

It's a sad reality too, these days parents forbid their children to use mobile phones while they themselves are on their, scrolling social media:(

Children mimics their parent's actions and not follow their shallow sermons.

En el mundo hay millones como Justin...
Su refugio es un mundo entre líneas.

Para muchos es incomprensibles.

Al final, padres e hijos dominado por una pantalla.

Indeed both are dominated but not only by the screen...

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Those creatures soon started to make demands to their creator , I think if Justin wasn't interrupted by his father, they would have pulled the strings ou of his hands. 🤔

Blessings, great story

It's possible these creatures would have done that but the question is how Justin would respind since his father already pulls his strings...

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

It took me almost twice as long to read your work.

Bravo 👏👏👏

I was so engrossed in your story that I didn't want it to end. What an intriguing perspective. You are a master of fiction.

Reading between the lines, I sense that you crafted your narrative more around the title than the prompt in the form of the middle portion. Nevertheless, it's acceptable because you executed it brilliantly.

As Justin leaves his room, a brief glance at his seemingly disinterested parents on the couch reveals a longstanding pattern of boredom, emphasizing a stark contrast between the microcosm of family dynamics and the grandiosity of the master's control.

I can empathize with Justin. He must be contemplating and possibly frustrated with his hypocritical father. This scene is so commonplace in many households.

We are all puppets in the hands of power, and the strings are so tight that they sometimes choke us.

If it comes to fiction I find it hard to write about. At first I intended to write about the girl's fear her mom would find out there was a dirty spot on the new dress (been there with my mother telling me to be more respinsible and take care of my new Sunday dress instead of always being clumsy and spoiling and breaking everything) but I think this is better because the sadness pouring out of that little girl in combination with such a story wouldn't make me feel any better.

Besides I wanted to show me my continued struggle & stress with AI generated pictures - kind of frustrating most results I get.

Indeed puppets we all are let's hope Justin will not change in a monster because of being neglected.

Thanks for reading me between the lines. 👍

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Besides I wanted to show me my continued struggle & stress with AI generated pictures

Ok, I feel you.
But the contest was not about generating any pictures or images or even using them :)

Parents this days, would never allow us enjoy our alone time… always interrupting it one way or the other 😊😊

They do aren't they...why not go outside and push the swing themselves 🤔

You can join this contest and write your story about the picture, give it a try and tag me.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Populate my world but stick to the rules!
That is one powerful direct rule.your creative writing is always a pleasurable read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65