A Dream Steem Time Change Over - A Story

in Dream Steem3 months ago


8780125c-0c28-4405-a3ef-9b5cb0ed69d4.jpg

Tick tick tick... the clock keeps ticking
I stick to the rhythm prescribed to me.

Tick tick tick... there is no trace of Mother Nature
Biorhythm is for the crazy and not welcome in a world where the clock rules.

Tick tock tick tock... I wake up
It's my alarm clock, digital time drives me crazy
What happened to the calming effect of the ticking clock?

Tick tack tick... time to get up
No, it's back to bed.
The alarm clock was set incorrectly

Tick tack tick... hurry faster
I slow down - scolding
Everyone will be late because you're lazy!

Tick, tick, tick... my cane ticks on the zebra crossing
Traffic lights start to beep. I know I won't make it.

Tick, tick, tick... is it summertime yet?
I'm exhausted.

Tick, tack, tick... dinner, shopping, storytime,
laundry, visitors, when can I take a shower?

Tick, tock, tock, tock... stress keeps me awake.
To the tick of the clock, I count hundreds of sheep.
The alarm clock says: sleep, sleep, sleep!
Before I know it goes off.

Tick, tack... hurry, hurry! I can't.
Too tired to set one foot in front of the other.

Tick, tick, tick... I'm losing my mind.
Who's that stranger in the mirror?

The key in my back is turned once more
just a moment, quick, hurry, there is no time
until the spring snaps and I let out a deep sigh.

Tick, tock, the clock stops.
I'm done with 'Father Time' whom I can no longer keep track of.

Summertime, an hour less to spend.

TOCK... Gameover, the clock is broken. Finally, it's silent


colorful-5314888_1280(1).png

Prompt: Time Changeover
19-3-2024
Picture

#steemexclusive #story #creativewriting #time-changeover #club5050 #worldbuilding #kittywu #holland

Sort:  

Gameover, the clock is broken. Finally, it's silent

I have never worn a watch. Sure, my mobile phone reminds me of appointments, but otherwise I try to live without time. Time is such a human construct anyway.

As a child I had a watch long before I could tell the time.
I can't remember the last time I had one. Still, time is forced upon people (work, shops closing, holidays, public transpoets, dates, and it's dark (or Summer) before you know.

I agree it's a (stressful)/human construction.

Thanks for reading & commenting.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52