King's Speech - a dream

in Dream Steemlast year (edited)

I had a dream. It wasn't a significant dream, more like a daydream. Or waking dream. Or maybe just a fantasy. Anyway - in this dream I was embedding one dream in another dream. So I was dreaming about, or imagining, shaping one dream like a nest and making it comfortable so that I could embed the other dream inside it as an Easter egg.

I think I need to start being a little more explicit.

"I have a dream" is the title of two very different texts, and I imagine that I could connect them together, something like elements in a collage. But in doing so, the first dream-text should not caricature the other, but the second should feel as comfortable in the first as an egg nestled in a nest. The egg, the symbol and form of fruitful multiplication, is the text of Martin Luther King's speech in August 1963. In it, a future is sketched, in it, like in an egg, a generation of hope slumbers. The nest is the song of the same name by Abba (1979).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

I have a dream, a song to sing
To help me cope with anything

I say to you today, my friends,
so even though we face
the difficulties of today and
tomorrow, I still have a dream.

I have a dream, a fantasy
To help me through reality

It is a dream
deeply rooted in the creed:
"We hold these truths to be self-evident;
that all men are created equal."

I'll cross the stream

I have a dream
that one day the [daughters and] sons
of former slaves and the [daughters and] sons
of former slave owners will be able
to sit down together at the table
of [sisterhood and] brotherhood.

I'll cross the stream

I have a dream
that my four little children will
one day live in a WORLD where they will
not be judged by the color of their skin but
by the content of their character.

I have a dream
today.

And my destination makes it worth the while
Pushin' through the darkness still another mile
I have a dream, a fantasy
To help me through reality
I have a dream, a song to sing
To help me cope with anything

I have a dream
today.

"Free at last!" deeply rooted in the creed:
"We hold these truths to be self-evident;
that all men are created equal."
I believe in angels
Something good in everything I see
"Thank God Almighty, we are free
at last!" I believe in angels
When I know the time is right for me

I have a dream
today.
If you see the wonder of a fairy tale
You can take the future, even if you fail
I'll cross the stream
I have a dream

Martin Luther King was assassinated 55 years ago (on April 4th 1968).

Please find his full speech here:

http://www.let.rug.nl/usa/documents/1951-/martin-luther-kings-i-have-a-dream-speech-august-28-1963.php

grafik.png
photo: ty-ty

Sort:  

Ich wäre nicht auf die Idee gekommen, daß ein banaler ABBA-Song irgendwie zu Martin Luther Kings Worten passen könnte... Wie man sich doch irren kann!

How did you incorporate the two! I am still at awe that these two can go together so well!

 last year 

Thanks for reading!
Yes, so it is...
I don't know if Abba had in mind what ML King once said, but it seems possible to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71