Unsung Heroes

in Dream Steem7 months ago (edited)

Hello dreamers, today I want to write about a hero of my country. It only feels right. I hope you will read my little contribution!

Screenshot_2024-01-07-14-08-06-070_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

Ali Sadpara - Pakistani mountaineer (1976 - 2021)

“No nation can thrive without recognising and celebrating their heroes. Ali Sadpara was one such unsung hero who dedicated his entire life and risked it to accomplish unprecedented feats for his country. This is the least I could do: sing for an unsung hero so that he is etched into our memories for as long as there is music.”

Ali Zafar's tribute to Ali Sadpara (1976 - 2021), a Pakistani mountaineer who went missing while climbing the K2 on February 9, 2021.

Paharon Ki Qasam fits the bill provided that the whole nation continuously prayed for Sadpara's safe return. "We haven't received word of your arrival. Your memory won't leave our hearts. We will keep waiting for you, so return for the mountains’ sake." croons Zafar in the song.

Please do watch the video even if you don't understand the lyrics. There are tiny glimpses of Ali Sadpara's journey that captures his vibrant personality and free spirit.
I hope you will then understand what I'm trying to say here!

I remember the day, when news channels reported him missing. I had heard his name before, but knew a little about him. The news papers and news channels declared the tragedy that struck on K2 as three climbers, John Snorri, Juan Pablo Mohr, and Muhammad Ali Sadpara, went missing during a perilous expedition. Despite an army helicopter's search efforts, harsh mountain conditions hindered any successful trace. This incident followed the confirmation of a Bulgarian mountaineer's death on K2, marking the third fatality that year. K2's extreme conditions, with winds over 200 km/h and temperatures plunging to -60°C, underscored the inherent risks. With an unprecedented surge in winter expeditions, the mountaineering community awaited updates on the ongoing rescue efforts, while leaders and officials expressed concern and urged prayers for the climbers' safe recovery.

After days of searching with Pakistan Army helicopters, satellite imagery, and SAR technology, they officially confirmed the deaths of the three climbers on February 18. The bodies of Muhammad Ali Sadpara, Iceland's John Snorri, and Chile's Juan Pablo Mohr were discovered on K2 on Monday, more than five months after they disappeared, as was stated by Alpine Club of Pakistan Secretary Karrar Haideri.

This news could be seen as closure for the members of the family, the mountain society, and the general public. I knew there were zero chances of their survival, given the conditions, but I had been following the news since the day of their reported missing. It made my heart really heavy. I couldn't stop the tears from flowing. I hadn't known him, nor even as a mountain climber before, yet my heart cried for him. I read several pieces of information I could find on him. I have watched this song many times since then. And then again today, out of nowhere, I wanted to watch and listen to this song of Ali Zafar playing tribute to him. I'm not even a mountaineer or a fan of mountaineers. Why is it that my heart goes out for him? I have such immense respect for Ali Sadpara.

I remember I kind of argued with my husband (when I heard the news) that this kind of mountaineering was akin to suicide. However, he said, "You can't stop the heart from pursuing what it desires. The heart wants what it wants!" While I understand the importance of passion, it was challenging for me to separate the risks from the potential harm such pursuits can bring.

Maybe, deep down, I wanted so badly for him to survive against all the odds.

But now I know, had he survived, he would not have given up his passion for mountains. And I now know that I respected him for his passion.

Screenshot_2024-01-07-14-10-09-914_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg
Source

Let's have a look on some of his glorious summits:

  • K2 Winter Ascent (2021): Ali Sadpara achieved international recognition when he successfully summited K2 in the winter of 2021. This accomplishment was part of the historic first winter ascent of K2.

  • Broad Peak Summit (2017): Sadpara successfully summited Broad Peak, another challenging 8,000-meter peak in the Karakoram Range.

  • Nanga Parbat Summit (2016): He also summited Nanga Parbat, the ninth-highest mountain in the world, in 2016.

  • Gasherbrum I and Gasherbrum II Summits: Ali Sadpara had summited Gasherbrum I and Gasherbru I and Gasherbrum II, both 8,000-meter peaks, showcasing his proficiency in high-altitude mountaineering.

This is my little tribute to this unsung hero!


Sources:
https://tribune.com.pk/story/2423663/sadparasummits-nanga-parbat
https://www.dawn.com/news/1704247
https://www.thenews.com.pk/latest/785569-k2-winter-expedition-2021-pakistans-ali-sadpara-climbs-8611-metre-peak
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ali_Sadpara

Sort:  

It’s true those who are passionate about something will do anything to achieve their high. It’s sad he is no more with us but he died doing what he loved most.

True that!
He will be remembered for his passion for mountains.
These gigantic beasts hold thousands of stories in their chests. There is something so powerful about these nature's wonders.
I have always found a certain pull towards them!

Yes, among the great mountaineers there are some who have serious accidents and still can't leave the mountain. They have to go up again and again... His end is probably exactly what a passionate alpinist would expect. I admire people who have such a strong passion - although it also has traits of obsession.

I know, but when I got to know about his achievements and watched a few snippets from his life, I could only feel immense respect for him.
My contradictory opinion about him (and other mountaineers) didn't stop me to feel love, pride and respect for him.

That's why, jotting these words down felt calming and therapeutic.

This is the power of writing down our feelings, which we can't say otherwise.

It feels good to hear other friends/ people interacting and validating or listening to these feelings/thoughts.

We have such a sad joke. "The mother had three sons, two smart ones and one climber (a motorcyclist, a diver, you can substitute any risky thing...)"

Everyone has their own destiny. As a professional, he understood all the risks of climbing, but he was a professional and he had a passion.
Sometimes you have to pay dearly for adrenaline.
It is a pity that this happened, but he is not the last one who will once again go to conquer another peak. This is how life works :)

Yes, this bothers me too.

But when I watched the little documentary and read about his achievements, it didn't come as something negative or excessive.
I couldn't help but feel respect for him.

Writing about such feelings is so therapeutic. It gives me a sense of relief!

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



Thank you for reading and supporting my nation's hero!

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36