Unplanned Stays...

in Dream Steem2 months ago (edited)

What to say...
I have overstayed here. I came to my hometown to meet my sister-in-law, who came from the US, and also to visit my parents again. Last time, due to the business of Eid, I couldn't stay long. Then my husband's leave ended, and we went back to the our current place of residence - a small village like town. This time, I traveled by public transport to meet my sister-in-law. The plan was to stay for a few days, but as they say, what’s meant to be will happen.

So, it happened that my children and I needed to get our passports made here. Why? I will tell you in a few days...

Last Monday, the children and I, accompanied by my father-in-law, visited the executive passport office. This was to avoid the hassle of long lines and queues. They charge extra at the executive office, but I had no other choice.

My father-in-law is old, and he couldn't manage the crowded normal passport office in this sweltering summer heat. But there were quite long queues and a little too many people applying for passport. I mean where is everyone going? Are they all leaving the country for some trip or forever...

And that construction zone in the city hit us hard again. The office is quite far from my in-laws' home. To make matters worse, when we reached somewhere near the office, we found out that several roads near Walton Road were closed. Poor Google Maps couldn't help—neither it could understand the road closures nor anything else.

When we finally reached the office, we were left with only 45 minutes to do everything—from step one to the last step.

We started with filling out the challan and then I applied for fast-track tokens. The form mentioned it would take two days for the passports to deliver, but when I asked the staff, they said it would take five working days.

However, today is the sixth working day, and it's been eight days in total, yet there's no sign of the passports. Well, there's not much more I can say about this now. But I am kind of furious that they charged us extra fees for the fast track processing of the passports.

So the current situation is that the children and I are still out of town. Although this is our hometown, we don't live here permanently. My eldest daughter's school has already started, and every day I receive a message from the school about her absence.

What can we do? Meanwhile, since we are here, we go out somewhere every day, sometimes for a little outing.

My sister-in-law and I take turns driving, and we have six children with us—three of hers and three of mine.

If I am being honest, I'm enjoying this break from the normal routine.

But now I'm starting to miss my home, especially my room. As I mentioned to @weisser-rabe the other day, you can have many houses, but there's only one home. @don-t is of the opposite opinion...their perspective is valid, but the peace and comfort I get in my own home, I can't find anywhere else.

Going out and exploring has its place. But the peace I get at night with a cup of tea, sitting with my husband in front of the TV, is unmatched by any adventure in the world.

I think human beings are inherently ungrateful, or rather, a constant routine makes one feel restless.

But I have never been bothered by staying at home. Yes, sometimes a change is nice, but it has never reached a point where I feel distressed about being at home for so many days.

Going out has its benefits or perhaps its drawbacks. There are all kinds of people in the outside world. My hometown is a metropolitan city, in contrast to my place of residence. So when I go out, I see a strange mix. On one hand, there are high-end restaurants filled with people who seem to have all the money in the world. On the other, there are helpless people wandering the streets. I see poor people riding motorbikes, probably exhausted from their day-long struggle to make a living, heading home. Their faces are weary, worn out from the heat, and filled with frustration.

When I think about these people, suddenly everything else in the world feels insignificant. Honestly, even high-end shopping malls start to seem disheartening. But then again, human nature is quite peculiar.

Despite these feelings, we try to move forward. We make an effort to help those working in parking lots or as guards outside stores, tipping them as charity when we can. Seeing the lower middle class, though, really tugs at the heartstrings. Their struggles can make one's heart feel heavy.

If it were up to me, every hardworking person in the world would enjoy the luxuries of these high-end malls and restaurants at least once in their lives. No one would be forced to travel by motorbike in this scorching heat, no elderly person would have to sell vegetables under the blazing sun, and no one would be in distress. But what can I do? I don't have the means to make such changes. But the naive me can't let go of this thought...

Sort:  

Home, the nest, is one of those things... I wanted to write about it. Bugger, I haven't managed it yet.

You wait until you have all the papers ready. A week's extra holiday won't do the kids any harm and you can do something nice together in the meantime. Sometimes life writes its own rules ;-))

Dorothy held Toto while she said three times, "There's no place like home," and clicked the heels of her Ruby Slippers together after each time she said it. Frank Oz.

Upvoted by soulfuldreamer through sc03 account

no elderly person would have to sell vegetables under the blazing sun,

If I had some magical powers, no aged man or woman had to do hard jobs to make a living.

I would already make them super rich and vanish their sufferings in thin air.

Since i was a child, as i live in a small city, i am seeing old man on streets selling things we don't find worthy enough to purchase, like Maronda, it's a thing to eat, unhygienic but...

But how much can they make out of it?

I feel so bad and without any realisation water comes not a tear, as Mahira Khan said in Hum kahan kay sachay thay that:

Ankh sy nikla hua har pani Anzoo ni hota

It's simply water of pain of seeing others deprived of facilities that everybody should have in a balanced society( but again we are not one ).

Upvoted by soulfuldreamer through sc03 account

We have a saying, it's good to be away, but it's better at home. And I feel it every time I cross the threshold of my ordinary apartment in an ordinary house. But it's special, it's my home :)

We don't know what's best for us. The fact that you were detained while processing documents... perhaps you were saved from the troubles that could happen if you returned on time. Who knows... :)
So, enjoy with gratitude to fate :)

As for the poor part of the people ... they have always been and will continue to be. It's important that you understand the whole situation. But we can't change everything. Or maybe you don 't have to ... who knows. Everyone has their own lesson in life.

======================
У нас есть поговорка, в гостях хорошо, а дома лучше. И я чувствую это каждый раз, переступая порог своей обычной квартиры в обычном доме. Но он особенный, этой мой дом:)

Мы не знаем, что для нас лучше всего. То, что тебя задержали при оформлении документов ... возможно тебя уберегли от неприятностей, которые могли случиться при своевременном возвращении. Кто знает ... :)
Так что, наслаждайся с благодарностью судьбе :)

Что касается бедной части людей ... они были всегда и будут впредь. Важно, что ты понимаешь всю эту ситуацию. Но не всё мы можем изменить. А может быть и не надо ... кто знает. У каждого в жизни свой урок.

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

1.gif

Спасибо за вашу поддержку :)

what I like to express with my mentioned comment was that for me (and my familly) home was in a lot of places in Europe in the last two decades everywhere where there was a warm and nestling feeling from the side of the people and circumstances which surrounds us on that beautiful places.
It was the people who mostly made us feel like in our former home in our country of birth, and be sure not one of these places has the infrastructure of my country of birth, but even this don´t matters to us because we were accepted and well integrated in the community where we lived a pleasant live for some month or years.
We´ve made friendships which lasts since these first days and we came back often to our now "second" or "third" home which actually took over in a not sorted order the "first" homes place.

We guess its all about the skills to integrate in a foreign place whatever reason brings you there, and when your open to communicate or deliver help and respect the people down there you will be at home, its just a bit of furniture, some fabric, some tasteful details and these lovely people surrounding you and there it is your place what we all call home.

sunny greetings this time from Germany

Thanks for sharing such awesome content
@soulfuldreamer!
It has been featured in
THIS BLOG SPOTLIGHT POST!

You will receive 10% of the rewards
earned on that curation post.

We have also given you an upvote and a resteem!

steemitbloggers gif 1.gif
An initiative by @jaynie

Please feel free to show your support to this initiative as well as to the authors featured within!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62617.55
ETH 2438.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67