A Red On Doppler Radar Passed Over Our House - Two

in Dream Steem3 days ago

A Red On Doppler Radar Passed Over Our House - Two

Screenshot_20240811-020749.png

Ten bolts struck the ground
Like 18" battleship guns
Thunder loaded another round
The commander ordered Fire!
The clouds did crack
Like an arc welder at hire
A tornado blew by east "ATTACK!"
Metal roof sounded - a thousand snare drum
Down from the heavens
The water hammered COME!
THE SKIES ARCHED LYRE
While Perseids did flower
With the pounding shower
The rain bounced three feet off the roof
I remembered the blazes of August '07
As I scanned all directions, looked
I saw no flames beginning to tower
Meteorites broke through clouds with power
Tree branches of light a bower
And front row seats did we book
As I went outside for another look
Earlier in the evening while I filled my truck
A woman like an angel parked at the pump
Asked me if she should drive through that
She was terrified I saw had never seen
Any lightning storm like that
I looked and I said that's not so bad
That's a normal dry storm for here
At this time in August at this time of year
My truck was soon filled, gas can too
At the Pavanti Paiute Tribal gas station
Kanoshi Reservation of the Indian nation
I had in the back bags of loaded concrete
Drove off to the west down Black Rock Road
It was all down hill with my 1,400 pound load
I watched bolts ground in the valley
And way up on the Mountains around high
Yet not even once did a spark alight
Noname, the angel said to me
While in the dark I said I did see
The Evil light towers of drought
Operated by the dumbest of louts
Set thy wards strong to ever hold fast
The Lord gave me warning of that which would pass
And while I slept until the thunders did crash
Break my dreams open solely to write this
Now it is over as fast as it had come
The storm blew Eastward to dreams shalom
We got water, we have light, we could have sold seats
My wife exclaimed, those idiots said it's a the percent chance
What were the odds for this happenstance?
For these fireworks, Good night!
Copyright ©️ 2024 by Jeff Kubitz, @jeff-kubitz, All Rights Reserved, but not myscreenshot of AccuWeather Doppler radar

Sort:  

I've always wanted to head out west and see Utah. I used to have a friend who lived in Salt Lake City. How's the rent out there?

There's cheaper places up by the University but rents are high since the Olympics of 2002

Yeah, I live just east of Raleigh over in NC, and the rent is out of control even here now. Just ten years ago, it was dirt cheap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44