You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keyword of the Week: Dancer / Schlüsselwort der Woche: Tänzer

in Dream Steem3 months ago

Neat!

I'm curious, do you start out writing German or English? Any time I try to translate a text from one to the other I end up doing an unintentional rewrite.

Sort:  

Hihi! I actually alternate between the two. Sometimes I write originally in German and then translate. Sometimes it's the other way round. Sometimes I write two independent texts, so it's more of a transliteration than a translation. We lived in England for a long time, so I'm thinking bilingual, so to speak. Maybe it's a bit schizophrenic ;-))

Nah, I get it. For me English has the advantage of me not knowing it well enough to be super self-conscious. Thinking I'm about it, I'm not sure if it makes sense. I guess switching around like you say could give an interesting dynamic, because you're forced to rewrite some stuff instead of clinging to words and phrases.

Heard "kill your babies" in context of writing. Maybe killing babies is easier using a foreign language. Metaphorically speaking. Or is that an anology? I don't know the difference.

I think the metaphor is a good one. And the idea is interesting; I'll give it some thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63