The Keyword of the Week: Vanity

in Dream Steem4 months ago
I know that when we hear the word vanity, we jump to the conclusion that we are talking about how we appear or how we carry ourselves. No, I have no intention of showing you my vanity van or boasting about how much time I spend looking at myself as handsome.

  

“Had I been in love, I could not have been more wretchedly blind. But vanity, not love, has been my folly.”
― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

  
I have no intention of showing you that I'm too interested in my appearance or achievements. I can only say that I have a job purely based on the reasons for my vanity and ambitions I had right from the beginning.


nail-care-1812444_1280.jpg
Image

I have different reasons I can show you why I feel proud, and that's my vanity, but I want to overcome it by understanding why I feel like that and my pride filling inside me.

I often sit alone and ask myself, Am I vain? What's so special about me that makes me feel proud of myself? I guess I want to feel good about myself, but is that all? But then I feel the so-called vanity is just skin deep, so I should look deep down inside myself and look for the real beauty.

I feel like I found the reason for my real vanity, I think that will be the best day of my life. I need to find a few more ways to make me feel good about myself in more satisfying ways.

I want to laugh aloud as the present form of vanity doesn't satisfy my ego, or should I call the ego I have at this moment a false ego, which is killing my ego and vanity both at the same time?

The sense of vanity isn’t satisfying any of my needs but is making me think of a few innovative ways that might make me happy. Let me make it clear at this point that in the age group, I fall into, I have no big desires left in me. At least the money is the last thing that will satisfy my vanity.

I have no intention to think big anymore. I don't want to try to think of small things either, so what is my aim? How should I define vanity?

I am itching inside my brain to do something, but nothing is going my way at this point. The ones I am trying to help feel as if I am doing all of it in my interest, but that's not my aim or puts my vanity at peace.

My problem is that when I wish to look at the bigger picture of life, people consider me greedy, and when I suggest something that will change the way people around me think, they have no trust in me.

I agree; everyone has their ideas and the power to think. Maybe the definition of vanity is different for me and them.

Then what do I do? I guess I should change myself and change the definition of vanity in our mutual interest! I should do the things that make them happy or feel good. But wouldn't it hurt my vanity?

In the end, I feel I should decrease my love for my vanity and think from a wider perspective of the community to make things look more beautiful. After all, things look exactly the way you look at them. I must change my way of looking at things so they look better, and perhaps that will satisfy my vanity.

I hope my way of looking at vanity is now clear to you. I must look beyond myself and find new ways to make this society look better and more acceptable in the wider interest of all and sundry.


homeless-1416564_1280.jpg
Image

Whatever the reason for my vanity, I can tell you this: with every passing moment in my life, I have concluded that a man is never satisfied, no matter what he has achieved in his life. But maybe I have passed that point in my life.

However, I have yet to fulfill a couple of ambitions in my life, and that includes doing something for the community that will remain in the minds of this society even when I am not among them. And for sure, I have no intention of remaining here forever. Perhaps that's the only way to save my vanity.

Beneficiary @hive-107855

Sort:  

Good morning! I like that - because I can think about it for a while...

Vanity and pride are close relatives. But I understand vanity more as false pride or pride in something that you haven't earned through your own efforts. I can't very well be proud if I win the lottery - that would be a lucky coincidence. But if I succeed in achieving an important goal, I think of pride as something positive. Vanity is not positive. And pride is perhaps often used incorrectly as a word.

 4 months ago 

That's very true, and my message is loud and clear in my last sentence which reads

I have no intention of remaining here forever. Perhaps that's the only way to save my vanity.

Either things go as I want them to happen or I go my way!

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through Curation Team#2. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.



Curated by : @patjewell
 4 months ago 

Thank you so much @patjewell, I appreciate your support.

Pleasure!☕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89